Joe Froggers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This was a hit! I made some cream cheese icing for the top, used 3/4 cup molasses instead of 1 cup, and rolled them out to just a little bit thicker than the recommended 1/4 inch. My friends loved them and they were so fun to make :) The recipes does have a type-o in it. It calls for the use of baking soda in the ingredients and baking powder in the recipe. It was a 50/50 chance and luckily I chose the correct one, which was BAKING SODA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THELIZARDQUEEN99

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Molasses, gingersnap, and gingerbread recipes are all very close..,I've tried so many different ones trying to find that one with the perfect bite and chewiness and flavor, and for me, this is the one. I added 1Tb. orange rind to the batter and did my usual changes: used half whole wheat pastry flour and only half the sugar, and I won't get through this season without a constant supply on (or in) hand. I think the name keeps people from trying this recipe, too, because it doesn't come up on gingerbread searches. Well, as they say, seek and you shall find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
THE BEST. My 4 year old son has autism and is very, very picky -- he won't even eat chocolate chip cookies or cake. Whenever I want to bake him a treat, I turn to these cookies, which he inhales. It's a bit time consuming, and you have to plan ahead a little, but the results are so yummy. I give these out at Christmas in shapes of trees and bears and moose. Will hold their shapes even if cut really large. And the house smells wonderful afterwards!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetiebird

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
WAY too much molasses for my taste. The dough was extremely sticky, as others have noted. I probably added another whole CUP of flour as I was rolling out these cookies, just to be able to get them up off the counter. I think I will play around with this recipe, though, because I really liked the texture of the cookie--firm yet chewy. Next time I will use 1/2 the amount of molasses and substitute the other half with light corn syrup. I think I will also skip the cloves and add in cinnamon instead. I may even think about adding more flour to the dough to cut down on the stickiness and help with rolling out. For now, this recipe only gets 2 stars, but I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
I LOVE molasses cookies, and these are the BEST(sorry grandma)! They are very soft and chewy, great with a cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kala

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coon Valley, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
The flavor of these cookies was good. I could not roll them out/cut them out even after refrigerating overnight as the dough was too soft to do so. I ended up making balls, rolling in sugar and pressing flat w/ the bottom of a glass. That worked well, but all the cookies except the batch I accidently underbaked became rock hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
These are cutout cookies that are real soft and squishy-like, so they might not work so good with ginger boys and girls. They are not overly sweet, so maybe a light frosting would be a good add on. These are real easy and make the house smell festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Very nice molasses cookie, however not a Joe Frogger. Two Stars for effort. I knew it was "off the mark" when I saw the cut out cookies with a sugar frosting on top!!!! For the real poop on these, one can go to Marblehead Magazine and read the best recipe for these cookies. There are other sources for the same recipe. Notably Eleanor Early's great cookbook, which was published in 1954, "The New England Cookbook". Note that they DO call for rum, butter shortening and combining the baking soda with the molasses (Not mixing the soda in with the flour, etc.) Find a true "rule" for these and DO NOT MAKE ANY SUBSTITUTIONS to enjoy a true New England treasure. And pass on the temptation to dress them up with sugar frosting, please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
Not bad. I was hoping for something with a little more crispness, and a little less bite. I think a light layer of cream cheese frosting would really have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Falmouth, Cornwall, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
Soft, chewey molasses cookies with a hearty dose of ginger - these cookies are exactly what I wanted! Thank you, Ingrid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTTSBELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States