Joe Froggers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
fabulous recipe - good flavour (a little bite, but not too much) and good consistency (firm and chewey, but not hard). i found the cookies were not that difficult to roll out, as long as it was chilled enough and everything was well-floured. i made gingerbread men, and with the scraps (which were too soft to re-roll and cut) i rolled them into balls and used a sugared glass to press them down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Molasses, gingersnap, and gingerbread recipes are all very close..,I've tried so many different ones trying to find that one with the perfect bite and chewiness and flavor, and for me, this is the one. I added 1Tb. orange rind to the batter and did my usual changes: used half whole wheat pastry flour and only half the sugar, and I won't get through this season without a constant supply on (or in) hand. I think the name keeps people from trying this recipe, too, because it doesn't come up on gingerbread searches. Well, as they say, seek and you shall find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
WAY too much molasses for my taste. The dough was extremely sticky, as others have noted. I probably added another whole CUP of flour as I was rolling out these cookies, just to be able to get them up off the counter. I think I will play around with this recipe, though, because I really liked the texture of the cookie--firm yet chewy. Next time I will use 1/2 the amount of molasses and substitute the other half with light corn syrup. I think I will also skip the cloves and add in cinnamon instead. I may even think about adding more flour to the dough to cut down on the stickiness and help with rolling out. For now, this recipe only gets 2 stars, but I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Yummy! To me, these tasted like a nice mild gingersnap-without being rock hard! The dough was a bit sticky to work with, but nothing that a well floured surface couldn't handle. I rolled these out and used cookie cutters, and they held their shape nicely. My family really liked them, from hubby right down to 3 year old. I did moisten them slightly and sprinkle colored sugar on before baking. Oh, they cooked quickly, too, but maybe I rolled them a bit too thin. I will definitely make these again for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tappahannock, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
The flavor of these cookies was good. I could not roll them out/cut them out even after refrigerating overnight as the dough was too soft to do so. I ended up making balls, rolling in sugar and pressing flat w/ the bottom of a glass. That worked well, but all the cookies except the batch I accidently underbaked became rock hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
Maybe I did something wrong but these did not turn out very good. They did not seem sweet enough or something. Maybe it was the kind of molasses I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangastar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
These had quite a strong molasses flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
This is a very tasty molasses cookie ~ and the kids LOVE the name. Thanks Ingrid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
THE BEST. My 4 year old son has autism and is very, very picky -- he won't even eat chocolate chip cookies or cake. Whenever I want to bake him a treat, I turn to these cookies, which he inhales. It's a bit time consuming, and you have to plan ahead a little, but the results are so yummy. I give these out at Christmas in shapes of trees and bears and moose. Will hold their shapes even if cut really large. And the house smells wonderful afterwards!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetiebird

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
These were very tasty...tastes like Christmas. Be sure to stir the spices in well, or someone might get a big clump of ginger...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Always Cooking Up Something

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States