Joe Froggers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by llgrotts
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Added 3/4 cup molasses as suggested which made it a perfect dough; would have been too sticky otherwise. Added about 1 teas cinnamon as well. Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I left the dough to stiffen over the night but was still a wet mix in the morning, so cut-outs weren't possible, making it hard to put on the cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
loved these. I did use regular molasses instead of dark and I didn't refrigerate the dough i just rolled into balls and baked, for 9-10 mins, they were pretty browned on the bottom, next time i'll take the cookies our sooner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
We didn't attempt to roll these as cookie cutter cookies--the dough rolled out, but was much too sticky to lift & allow the cut-out to hold shape. Instead I did them like Peanut Blossoms--made balls, rolled them in white sugar, and flattened on a pan with the bottom of a glass. Great! Yummy with frosting, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
These were pretty good. But make sure you don't over bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Don't do what we did: we subbed butter for shortening, made dough balls, rolled in sugar and cooked a bit too long--I couldn't get these off the cookie sheet! The dough was delicious BEFORE adding the 1-1/2 tsp salt (seems like alot but we added what was called for--dough turned extremely salty). Our cookies came out of the oven and went into the trash which was unfortunate. Glad to read others had good luck! (i'm rating *** b/c too much salt)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Very nice molasses cookie, however not a Joe Frogger. Two Stars for effort. I knew it was "off the mark" when I saw the cut out cookies with a sugar frosting on top!!!! For the real poop on these, one can go to Marblehead Magazine and read the best recipe for these cookies. There are other sources for the same recipe. Notably Eleanor Early's great cookbook, which was published in 1954, "The New England Cookbook". Note that they DO call for rum, butter shortening and combining the baking soda with the molasses (Not mixing the soda in with the flour, etc.) Find a true "rule" for these and DO NOT MAKE ANY SUBSTITUTIONS to enjoy a true New England treasure. And pass on the temptation to dress them up with sugar frosting, please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Just made these.. they are great. I didn't even refrigerate them, just rolled into balls, put sugar on top and flattened with bottom of glass (as another reader suggested) right after I mixed them. They will be added to my christmas cookie list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeport, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
We loved these cookies. I was skeptical making them because gingerbread cookies don't usually get eaten in our house, the kids just like decorating them. But every last cookie was eaten with this recipe! I am glad I found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This was a hit! I made some cream cheese icing for the top, used 3/4 cup molasses instead of 1 cup, and rolled them out to just a little bit thicker than the recommended 1/4 inch. My friends loved them and they were so fun to make :) The recipes does have a type-o in it. It calls for the use of baking soda in the ingredients and baking powder in the recipe. It was a 50/50 chance and luckily I chose the correct one, which was BAKING SODA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THELIZARDQUEEN99

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States