Joanne's Super Hero Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
The recipe as written was way too strong of a vinegar flavor. It overpowered the sandwich. I will cut the amount down to suit my family's taste buds. The rest of the sandwich was a good match. I liked the use of the italian loaf bread hollowed out to hold the deli meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
My family loved, loved, loved it! I did make some changes and watched Chef John's Shooter Sandwich video, so my sandwich was a very nice hybrid. I eliminated the olive oil, lemon juice, lettuce, tomatoe and pork. Instead, I mixed spicy mustard and mayo with horseradish and spread it over the bread. I mixed all the herbs with the garlic, mushrooms (doubled) and olives (halved) and sauteed on med-low for 20 minutes. I layered everything as follows: Chicken, beef, turkey, mushroom mix, cheese, pate, cheese, chicken, beef, turkey. I only used a total of 1 lb of meat. I loosely wrapped in 2 layers of plastic and then a layer of foil. I put it between 2 cookie sheets and pressed it overnight in the frig with a 20 lb weight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This sandwich is great just the way the recipe is!! (I should mention we don't put lettuce on ours, and if I did then I would assume spinah or romaine would be better, just like another reviewer said). This has gotten rave reviews by our family and friends and I love having this recipe on hand for something than can be made the night before. The bread does not get soggy and the leftovers were even great the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I made this for my husband and his German friends..They LOVED it!! Said it was better than the German bakeries..The only things I did different was that I left out the black olives and mushrooms and added dried parsley ( 1tsp).. I also didn't add the turkey and bought just white crusty bread (it felt pretty hard) cause the deli was out of French bread.. I left it overnight and it was not soggy at all...I can't wait to make this again and try it for myself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlishaL.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Mmmm, really good! I didn't use all the meat and cheese, but it was plenty for a 1 lb. round sourdough loaf from Safeway's bakery. I used provolone instead of mozzarella, red wine vinegar instead of tarragon and spinach in place of the lettuce. Love that you make it a day ahead. We took it for lunch on the boat and hubby said it tasted like a sandwich from a fancy deli! A great sandwich for a party or crowd, thanks for sharing! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Left out the mushrooms, still wonderful!! I've made this many times. It's a great recipe to make before company comes. I had one f these in the fridge and we just sliced pieces off and lunch was served!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPARKERII

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Good, for me a it was too much garlic. I wound up scraping off some of the seasonings. The sandwich wound up lasting longer than expected which was a nice surprise. I got probably 4 lunches out of it. I might also substitute the salami for another meat, though that's personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
sooooo very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
A good combination of flavors that makes for a really good, filling sandwich. I made this for a party. It was nice to make the night before to leave time for the rest of the party goodies on the day of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States