Joanie's Coney Island Hot Dog Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
great coney sauce, but it goes alot better with Plaths Meats Hot Dogs,, from Rogers City, michigan,,, just the best ever dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Great recipe! I gave a three because of the bite/spice to it. Great for adults an not so great for children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaziaoaks23
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This recipe was ok!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikagee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Loved it! Perfectly seasoned and so easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rossford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Fantastic!! I have been looking for a real simple Hot dog sauce without 10000 ingredients. This was perfect. I follow the recipe exactly as written, and the only thing I added was 1 tsp Cayenne powder, because I like my sauce a little spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This was the perfect recipe since I was out of ketchup and tomato sauce!! I thought the flavor was pretty good, I might try a tomato based one before I decide how much I like this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by MamaFaMi
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I substitute paprika and chillie powder with chillie paste. I didn't use much because my son can't take too much hot food. If it were for me, I would have put in quite a bit! I added minced garlic and diced tomatoes just to give it a tangy taste. The rating is from my son. Thank you Joan for sharing the recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaFaMi

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I made this using "zelkos" changes. We put it over hot dogs and fresh cut fries, topped with shredded cheddar and diced onion......it was a hit. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germfask, Michigan, USA
Living In: Barbeau, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Great... just as the directions read! very much like the coney dogs I'm used to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rcoller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
This sauce was not hot at all but very spicy...I ended up doubling the spices in the sauce but I probably had more than a pound of ground beef...ya know? Also added cumin seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States