Jo Jo Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
They were yummy. I used pepper in stead of lemon pepper and added some garlic salt and parsley. I fried them in vegetable oil in a frying pan in stead of in the deep fryer, they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Gordon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
These are great, just like what I used to get in the stores back west (out here on the east coast, no one seems to no what they are- but maybe I'm just looking in the wrong places). Took a bit more flour than the recipe states, but they were the perfect texture and tasted fabulous, especially dipped in ranch dressing. Thanks for sharing the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
These turned out really good! They were crunchy with an excellent texture. I popped mine in the freezer for a few minutes before frying. The only adjustment I would make would be to omit the lemon pepper and substitute some other kind of spice, but that's just personal preference. They looked and tasted like restaurant quality. I was impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
Very enjoyable. If you like your J0-Jo's a little more spicy, add a some black or red pepper. I made mine in a fry daddy for five minutes. To make Jo-Jo's more "tender" bake at 350F for 10 to 15 minutes after frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
These were so easy to make and such a hit with the fam! There were no more left at the end of the meal! The coating was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Mader Wisniewski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Bern, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
These are great!! I cut baking potatoes crosswise and added a tsp of "Ms.Dash" for a little more spice. Then fried in the deep fryer. They came out crispy on the outside and soft and yummy on the inside. Excellent!! Great recipe..thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bequita84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
These are great! I will make these all the time. They are sooo easy. I fried them in my deep frier. I always make more flour mixture than called for when frying things, I always seem to need more. I tripled the flour and seasonings and added 1/2 tsp baking powder. For the egg mixture I mixed 2 eggs and 1 cup heavy cream. To cut down on the mess I put the potatoes in the egg mixture and then a couple at a time I would use a fork to transfer them to the flour mixture and then I would shake the bowl side to side until the wedges were coated. Very little mess, easy and sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLELADYJONES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Primghar, Iowa, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I was at a restaurant and had this dish many years ago. Could never quite get the spices right, but this is it...Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States