Jo Jo Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
These were pretty good. I made them when I had family over for dinner. I was skeptical at first because my first batch I cooked for about as long as the recipe says and they came out a bit undercooked in the middle. The breading reminded me of fried chicken batter, which I did not expect. They also lacked salt, so I added some to the mixture and it was much better. The next batches I ended up cooking for probably about double the time and they came out much better. They actually tasted better after they sat for a while, but everyone said they liked them in the end. They came out much like potato wedges you'd get at a deli or convenience store. Probably make them again if we get a craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILFRAZIER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Fantastic! We have a pizza restaurant that has JoJos similar to this. I always order these when we go. My husband is not much of a potato lover but he liked these better than the restaurant. He was very impressed. Thanks for a great recipe. It will save me money since I can stop paying the 5 bucks it costs me everytime I buy them at the restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
My hubby loves these! I add more spices than the recipe calls for, but the flavor doesn't seem to come through after frying. We just add some seasoning salt right after they come out of the fryer and they are delicious! For the reviewers that said the dry mix becomes clumpy, I put all the dry ingredients into a large baggie, then after dipping the potatoes in the egg, I put all the potatoes into the baggie with the dry mix and shake it up until all pieces are coated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soulpatrolmn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Excellent results, I've always loved Jo Jo's and this hit the spot. Workd well in a deep fat frier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Belmond, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
A family pleaser. Very good and tasty. I only cooked 3 baking potatoes and had to use two eggs and double the dry ingredients. It made a lot more than my family of 3 could eat at one meal. I will suggest this recipe to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla's Grandma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I guess my rating doesn't truly reflect this recipe as I tweaked it quite a bit...I didn't want to deep fry the potatoes so I substituted about 2 or 3 TBS Shake N Bake Southern Fried coating mix for the flour, and I used 1/4 tsp. pepper instead of 3/4 tsp. lemon pepper. I microwaved the wedges for 1 minute, then added all the seasonings, and then baked them in the oven on 450 degrees for about 20 min. on a greased cookie sheet with melted butter drizzled on top. They came out perfectly crunchy on the outside and moist on the inside. After reading several reviews where people thought these were lacking in flavour due to the flour, I think the Shake N Bake was a good choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by David Schwartz, Seattle
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
We enjoyed these potatoes sprinkled with parmesan cheese. My son complained that they were bland, but the rest of us enjoyed them thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
These taste almost exactly like the jo jo potatoes that I used be able to get back home at convenience stores. I've always loved those! The mix was pretty gloppy, even on my first batch, so I will have to think of some other way to mix them together. Otherwise, loved them. I didn't use my fryer--just fried in a bit of oil in a wide frying pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Metta Karuna
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Like past reviewer, DREGINEK; I had a problem with the flour/spice mix becoming chunky. My first batch looked delicious and had some flavor but after that batch they went down hill. I do agree with other past reviews that the seasoning mix should be doubled and the mixture wasn't enough for the 2 potatoes I used. Overall, I get the taste these were supposed to achieve but there has to be another way of getting the batter to stick without chunky results? I used the plastic bag method but seem to think it has more to do with the batter not the method of coating. Maybe next time use milk instead of egg? I may try that next time. Thanks, Wendy. I will be playing around with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metta Karuna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Coot226
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
These came out nice and crunchy and moist in the middle but had no flavor, definately needs alot more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coot226

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States