Jo Jo Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
So easy and quick to make. Tasty snack or side dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Folsom, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I am rating this five stars for flavor. They are amazing! I followed one of the reviews and soaked the potatoes in water and then let them sit in the flour mixture for a while. No egg. I do keep the seasoning and all that the way it's listed in the recipe. Just no egg. So I think I can give this recipe five stars, since I didn't really alter it. Anyway, these are excellent and we all love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Made some changes, but other than that I really like this recipe. I omitted the lemon pepper and put regular black pepper. I doubled the seasoning salt. I didn't put the egg either. I took someone elses suggestion by soaking the potatoes in water and leaving them in the flour mixture for several minutes and it worked like a charm. I have been searching EVERYWHERE for the JoJo's I remember getting at a convenience store when I was a child. These are pretty much it. I also made Uncle Dans Ranch Dressing to go with them. VERY YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
These turned out great! I followed other suggestions and soaked the wedges in water for a half hour first and omitted the egg. I also needed to increase the yield so I used 2 cups flour, 2 tsp garlic powder, 1 1/2 tsp lemon pepper, 1 tsp cayenne pepper, 1 tsp celery salt, 2 tsp onion powder, 1 tsp seasoning salt. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Very good recipe, will be doing again soon! The only thing I would do differently is add ALOT more of the spices. My first batch I did this way was the bland one, the second one I added probably double to triple the spice amounts and they turned out perfect. I also added a bit of ceyenne pepper for the subtle spice that most deli potatoes have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gremlyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stover, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
in testing, this would be better remove the shallow dish method and use a baggie, substitute papirika for the lemon pepper, add garlic and some dried chilis to enhance the flavour. serve with a cooling ranch sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
EXCELLENT RECIPE! The taste was very good but not overwhelming. For the people that said the flour got lumpy, that happens when you get too much egg in your flour. Keep one fork for tossing the potatoes in the egg, (1 or 2 at a time) make sure you drip some egg off as you toss them into the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach LeBlanc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Alot of work and mess for something that turned out tasteless and had an uneven texture. I make oven-fried fries using the microwave, oven and other ingredients that turns out much better. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
The seasoning is amazing, but read a lot complaints about the batter coating. I work at a gas station and we make our own jo jos. One trick that we use is not to use any milk, or eggs or anything before putting it in the flour batter. Soak them in water for a while before you put them in the flour batter and coat them. Then make sure you let them sit in the flour batter for at least 15-20 mins and don't shake the flour off. Toss them into your deep fryer for about 11 mins depending on size. We have HUGE jo jos. They will turn out crunchy and amazing and no milk or eggs required!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
These wee pretty good. The only thing I did differently was that I used just a bit more flour and added the spices w/o measuring-just because I like intense flavor :-). This recipe is definatley a keeper! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States