Jo-Ann's Power Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
This was great! I always hated buying granola bars because they aren't really good for you. These TASTE good for you. I doubled the recipe and put it in a 7x11 pan for thick bars. Also, I exchanged the applesauce for 2 mashed bananas (my applesauce was no good) I think it was perfect and even better because I didn't have the added sugar that comes with store bought applesauce. I'm going to keep making them with bananas, the flavor was fantastic and they are very firmly held together. So glad I found this recipe before the summer started (four boys)! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten Liv Olson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
These taste delicious and I followed the recipe exactly. I used dried cranberries for the fruit. The only problem I had was that some of the bars crumbled apart. I guess I could use the crumbles in yogurt or something but maybe next time I'll add more honey to make them stick together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
These were delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and was really happy with them. I got so excited about making bars from scratch that I tried another recipe that was not nearly as good. I'll go back to these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
I was surprised that they were not that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
These are incredibly moist bars and so easy to make! I tried it for the first time a week ago, substituting almonds for the original nuts/seeds, adding in coconut flakes and using coconut oil instead of vegetable. Although I enjoyed them they were a bit bland for my tastes. I made them again a few days later with the following changes and they turned out amazing! Here is my version: 2T brown sugar instead of 3T, used melted refined coconut oil (again), upped the applesauce (natural) to 1/3 c., chopped peanuts for the nuts, vanilla protein powder instead of flour, left out the cinnamon, added one large banana - slightly mashed, added dried cranberries, handful of raisins, a sprinkling of chocolate chips and chia seeds, 1/2 t. Boulder Salt for the added nutrition, and 2T. of powdered coconut water (for the extra potassium). This version turned out so well and was so easy that I made them 3 more times over the next couple of days! I shared them with many others and everyone loves them! Thanks to the versatility of this recipe I plan to make a different version every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I have been making a double batch version of these bars each week for a couple of months now. They have become our daily "go to" bar for breakfast and snacks. They are even "healthy eating husband approved"! :) I did take suggestions from some of the other reviewers and substituted a few items to meet our tastes. I use 2 scoops chocolate organic protein in place of the flour, molasses for the honey, coconut oil for the vege oil, lightly salted roasted almonds for the nuts, dried blueberries and cherries for the fruit. I also add 1/3 cup chunky organic peanut butter, 1/3 cup organic toasted coconut, 1/3 cup mini semi-sweet chocolate chips, 1 tsp. cloves, 1 tsp. vanilla and leave out the brown sugar. I bake them for 25 minutes, let them cool completely and then refrigerate overnight. The following morning I lift the foil out of the pan as instructed and cut into bite-size bars. I put 4 - 5 bars (depending on how big I have cut them) into a plastic sandwich baggies and put them back in the refrigerator. We just grab a bag in the morning and go. These bars taste great and have become a staple item in our house! Thanks for sharing such a versatile recipe for power bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarine Koftikian
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This is a great recipe. Reduced the amount of honey to 1 tbsp, almond butter instead of oil, almond flour and coconut flour instead of flour and cereal. My version became dairy free and gluten free
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarine Koftikian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Great flavor, so easy, great texture. What i love most about these is they are super affordable. Will make these again. I followed the recipe as is. Made a double batch for my husband and friends for their trip and they came back with none - man approved :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
More like 4 1/2 stars. I made a double batch in a 9x12 pan, used regular white flour (since that was what I had), added extra applesauce and omitted the oil, and used sliced almonds instead of sunflower seeds and walnuts. I cut them into bars and then wrapped individually in foil. I keep them in the fridge for long term storage, but they keep fine in my bag for a day. May try the chocolate protein powder suggested by another reviewer next time. My kids and workout partner liked them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Thank you for this EXCELLENT recipe! Made it last week and again this week. Great ingredients and so easy to make. Much better than any we could buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States