Jo-Ann's Power Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
Good. very "appley" flavor. these are chewy not crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
These are very good! I used craisins as my dried fruit. They could use a little more flavor. Next time I might try putting some coconut or peanuts in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
I really like these. Not bland but not excessively sweet. I didn't have enough honey so I used maple syrup for almost half the 1/4 cup and they turned out fine. I also had a left over partial bag of dried fruit along with the 7 oz bag called for that I tossed in anyway to use it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
They don't have much flavor. I'm going to try again and use vanilla, cinnamon mix and different fruit. They are very chewy. I'm going to take them to CURVES and let the ladies judge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
I love this recipe! I've made this recipe a dozen times, using different dried fruit, omitting the nuts and adding chocolate whey-more protein (I'm a sports-nut). It never fails, never is dry and using chocolate covered raisins make them a bit sinful but always delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
The power bars served their purpose for a camping trip but I didn't really enjoy them. Seemed a little tough and not very tasty. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
Okay, not great. I like that they are healthy and filling. However, I think next time I will use some choc chips instead of the dried fruit -- that's what my sweet tooth was really craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
Keeeeeeeeeper!! Love it. Very chewy and not too sweet. I used chopped dates, which were somewhat sweet and dried cranberries. I could taste the cinnamon, very good. I'm actualy about to make them again right now. They work well as snack for school. I will try some changes like sesame seed or poppy seed, prunes or figs and peanuts. The one thing I changed was the amount of apple sauce. I increased it to 3/4 cup. It was easy to spread. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
These are absolutely delicious and so nutritious - one of my favorites! A great snack after a work-out with lots of water to replenish lost energy stores!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
A nice tasty snack! I used Craisins for the dried fruit, substituted apple butter for the applesauce, granola for the Grape Nuts, and omitted the sunflower seeds. We love having granola bars in the house I think it would be fun to experiment with different variations of this recipe to find your favorite combination. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States