Jo-Ann's Power Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
These power bars are awesome and my family has teeth and jaw problems and with the fruit it was to chewy so what we did was replace the fruit with 1/4 cup of chocolate chips and 1/4 cup of crasins. today we tried something new though we made a batch of 24 with 1/4 cup of chocolate chips and 1/4 cup of peanut butter chips with 1/2 a cup of crasins and they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I doubled this recipe, and didn't stray at all, and these are not good! I wanted them to be something my kids would eat, but they are dry, and a very strange texture. The picture makes them appear as if they have some moisture in them, but I would not ever make these again,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Very tasty! I've decided to start eating clean, and this was one of the first recipes I reached for. I've had it in my Recipe Box for a little while, and was impressed by the reviews and the versatility of the recipe itself. Made my first batch with sliced almonds instead of walnuts, and dried mixed berries. I also used the recipe for Sara's Applesauce (found here at Allrecipes) rather than store-bought. Since that has cinnamon in it, I halved the cinnamon for the power bars. Thanks for such a great base recipe! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
LOVED this recipe!!! These are sooo much better than anything you buy at the store. I will definitely make again and will experiment - the possibilities are endless. I omitted the honey and upped the applesauce to compensate, but otherwise followed the exact recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
These are delicious! And you can add just about anything to them. I didn't have sunflower seeds or walnuts so I added peanuts and chopped pecans. Based on another review I replaced the wheat flour with whey protein. I omitted the honey, brown sugar and oil and instead added another 1/4 cup applesauce. I also added 1/4 cup chocolate chips. I'm not sure why the recipe calls for 7oz of dried fruit - 1/2 cup was good enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
these were so delicious my husband even loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Fairly decent flavour but certainly not a bar you can eat on the run. Made them twice but will not be doing them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
my boys love blueberries so im wanting to make this recipe with them but not sure if i should use fresh or dried. any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Well, Power Bars is an accurate description. These are healthier than the store-bought power bars, but they don't taste much better and they have that same weird texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I made these power bars for my kindergartener to eat for breakfast, as they are portable and can be made very healthy. I made them with dried cherries, and added some vanilla paste to them. Next time I will add some flax seed and maybe get rid of the brown sugar. I really think the honey would be enough- I love these bars, and will be making them again really soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States