Jo-Ann's Power Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
LOVE!!! I did the same as other users...omit the flour and added chocolate whey protein powder, upped the applesauce, and ditched the brown sugar (due to the protein powder being sweet enough). I used dates and the blueberry infused crasins, THEY ARE HEAVEN in a bar!! My girlfriend and I had been looking for a nice healthy snack for after our daily workouts and this is it! Super easy to make and great for a quick pick me up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I make these weekly instead of buying expensive bars. I use a variety of mix-ins, depending on what I have on hand. Our favorite is probably coconut, almond, and chocolate chip. If I add flaxseed and chia seed, I add a little more applesauce, some baby food prunes, or an extra egg white for additional moisture. I double the recipe but use only 1/4 cup of brown sugar. It fits nicely in a 13x9 pan for 24 bars. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Couldn't get the crust to stick to the topping. Was very crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Loved them! So easy to play around with the ingredients and very filling. I put finely chopped dried apricots in my last batch which added just the right amount of sweetness. I am about to make a triple batch right now and make some gluten free for a friend (grinding up oats to make an oat flour instead of using wheat flour).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Amazing bars....I made a few changes such as adding a full tsp of cinnamon, omitting the applesauce and subbing with 1/4 natural crunchy peanut butter, adding 1/4 wheat germ, reducing the oil to 1 tblspn, adding chopped pistachios instead of walnuts and just using dried cranberries instead of the mixed fruit. I loved that this recipe incorportated the oats, ww flour and the Grape-Nuts cereal....which I had! A very tasty and healthy power bar!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I tried this recipe yesterday and it turned out good. Next time I will use more nuts and less flour, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This is the fourth time Ive made these, with different jams...all good, nice bar to give the kids to school!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I've made these twice. They've turned out great both times. I've used the recipe as shown except for adding 1/2 cup milled flaxseed and doubling the recipe so that each of the three members of my family will have a snack daily for a week. Am excited about trying different fruits, nuts and chips . Someone mentioned peanut butter, which I think is a fabulous idea. I'll try that next time. My whole family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
They might have been good, but by the time I got up from my nap to eat the fruits of my labor, they were already gone. I added some semisweet chocolate chips and dried cranberries (a favorite combination of mine) and they lasted all of 30 minutes. The husband and kiddos had sucked them down like they were the antidote.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
These bars are easy to make, portable, and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States