Jo-Ann's Power Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Great flavor, so easy, great texture. What i love most about these is they are super affordable. Will make these again. I followed the recipe as is. Made a double batch for my husband and friends for their trip and they came back with none - man approved :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
More like 4 1/2 stars. I made a double batch in a 9x12 pan, used regular white flour (since that was what I had), added extra applesauce and omitted the oil, and used sliced almonds instead of sunflower seeds and walnuts. I cut them into bars and then wrapped individually in foil. I keep them in the fridge for long term storage, but they keep fine in my bag for a day. May try the chocolate protein powder suggested by another reviewer next time. My kids and workout partner liked them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Thank you for this EXCELLENT recipe! Made it last week and again this week. Great ingredients and so easy to make. Much better than any we could buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
These were very dry and crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Huge hit!! Only changed vegetable oil for coconut oil. They come right out of the pan!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
These are really good but don't know why they have to stay in the fridge... they get really hard in there
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Kilthau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Really great base recipe. I made the following minor substitutions/changes: (1) Used garbanzo flour instead of wheat to make them gluten-free; (2) used agave sweetener instead of honey and omitted the brown sugar; (3) used a mixture of almonds, cashews, pepitas, raisins, cranberries, mini white and chocolate chips, and dried pineapple; (4) added a heaping tablespoon of natural style peanut butter; (5) used Barbara's multi-grain cereal; (6) greased the foil with coconut oil. I will never buy another store-bought granola bar. Love that I can control the fat and sugar in these and there's no preservatives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Mae

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I hate to say it, but these were not good at all. They were extremely dense and tasted like soggy/stale Grape Nuts. I made them exactly as the recipe reads so I'm not really sure what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I made these just like the recipe calls for and we loved them! I cut them into 12 bars and put them in plastics bags and stored them in the refrigerator and we each had one for breakfast for a week! I will be making these again soon! Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
These are so nice and easy! I did make a couple adjustments because I didn't have enough dried fruit I through in some dark chocolate chips. I also didn't use any oil or brown sugar but added more applesauce and a banana. Definitely will be making these again. They just seem so much healthier for you than anything in the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States