Jo-Ann's Power Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Athletic son won't eat store bought power bars. He says they all taste like cardboard. These, however, received his approval. I like being able to control what goes into them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
These are simply fantastic without deviating from the recipe. I've made them several times now and I like to add flax seed, almonds, pecans, and two tablespoons of peanut butter. I leave out the vegetable oil and drop in a tablespoon of canola oil, but none of those are really necessary...these are great as is and certainly don't need any assistance from me. Thanks for the recipe Arielle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I make this recipe at least once a week!Love this recipe. I have 5 kids, so I like to make my own granola bars for cost savings and better nutrition. This is an easily adaptable recipe. I've used all kinds of fruit purees instead of apple sauce. Some favourite combinations are cherry/ coconut/ white choc chip (just a few for fun!) and pumpkin puree with pumpkin seeds and pumpkin pie spices. We are a nut free home and school, so I've tried lots of things to "fill" out the bar, including flax and all kinds of other seeds, soy nuts, Grape Nuts, bran buds, coconut, you name it. Almost everything has worked! I double the recipe and use a parchment lined 9 x 13 pan, then after it's baked and cooled for about 10 minutes, I flip the whole thing out and cut into bars. I let those cool a little longer, then wrap them individually so they are ready to go into lunches or as snacks. I get about 18 -24 bars this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHBEAN007
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
these are really yummy! i made them with molasses instead of honey and only added 1/2 tbsp. of brown sugar. (i dont like lots of sugar) i didnt add any of the seeds or nuts but added raisins and cran-raisins. i will def. make these again adding chocolate chips and coconut...thanks for the healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
These granola bars are really good! I used raisins and chopped prunes for my fruit, so I think it made it too sweet with the honey and brown sugar (I don't like much sweet anyway). I used chocolate whey protein instead of flour and unsweetened applesauce in place of the oil. I will try different fruits next time and for sure I will use more nuts and less fruit and probably not use any brown sugar at all. Thanks for the recipe, Arielle! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatsREALfood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogersville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Jog Dish
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I tasted these straight out of the oven and was not a fan, but cut them up and put them in the fridge overnight and liked them much better. I used mini chocolate chips (about 1/3 cup) and peanuts instead of the fruit and other nuts. Great breakfast bar, keeps you going until lunch. Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
this is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I must've done something wrong. My recipe was not good as other cooks rated theirs...It had a strange texture, I tried crumbling it to go over yogurt and such but was still not good. So out to the birdies it went.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
These power bars r similar to the ones I make at home, But I use some peanut butter and fresh shredded apple instead of apple sauce. That really gives it a nice taste & fragrance. If people want 2 follow this recipe it is a perfect 5* and those on a diet or health concious should deff go 4 it wit out a 2nd thought.Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dhaka, Dhaka, Bangladesh
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Very good! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States