Jim's Pork Chorizo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2001
I really like chorizo, but don't like the commercial chorizo because it's too fatty and it looks like they grind all sort of meats to it. I wanted to grind my own pork and find the recipe to make a healthier chorizo, this recipe was what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
This is sooo good! It reminds me of the chorizo that my great grandmother use to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I love this recipe! The only time I don't make my own chorizo now is when I get given it as a gift. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDFIORO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrington, Cheshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Hebden Bridge, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Easy to make and worth the effort. This chorizo is better than any I have found in the stores. Use it with any recipe; it has a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
Made mine a little less hot, to suit my tastes, and still ended up with a wonderful sausage. I used it as the meat in my spaghetti sauce (after waiting the recommended 4 days) and ended up with a flavorful sauce better than I've ever had using store-bought chorizo. And it was so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Added garlic powder, more paprika, omitted cloves. For the future, I will add a pinch ground coriander and 1/4 tsp cumin. I did my research, and this combo was the best pork chorizo recipe I could find. I loved it!! I made a double batch and am freezing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renae Sattazahn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Yummy! I only let mine sit over night. I don't know how most people eat chorizo, but I grew up eating chorizo and egg breakfast tacos. So I cooked the meat, then scrambled eggs with it. So happy I "found" chorizo without all the weird body part in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Made a few changes suggested by others and have made this three times now. Great way to use venison....mix with venison, onions, and peppers for fahitas. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
We liked it and I want to make a second batch before I say this is the one just because I'm not thrilled with the four day wait especially with pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Great recipe as is. To respondent chvickers: chorizo is Spanish in origin, so it stands to reason that the paprika called for would the Spanish variety. Moreover, since when is Hungarian paprika considered "normal" paprika? You're correct, not everyone resides in the U.S. - but how does that sarcastic comment enlighten the reader???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States