Jim's Pork Chorizo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2001
I really like chorizo, but don't like the commercial chorizo because it's too fatty and it looks like they grind all sort of meats to it. I wanted to grind my own pork and find the recipe to make a healthier chorizo, this recipe was what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2001
Fair, but not worth the time and expense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
Made mine a little less hot, to suit my tastes, and still ended up with a wonderful sausage. I used it as the meat in my spaghetti sauce (after waiting the recommended 4 days) and ended up with a flavorful sauce better than I've ever had using store-bought chorizo. And it was so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
Good Recipe. Much lower fat than what you can find at the grocery store. I will make this again, but will cut the amount of the cloves and vinegar in half. The amount overpowered the overall taste. My family loves breakfast burritos and I used half of the meat plus some other ingredients to make 11 burritos. There was only one left this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goodland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greenwood Village, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
This is sooo good! It reminds me of the chorizo that my great grandmother use to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
Excellent once I realized the recipe called for American-style chili powder and not just ground chiles, and *Spanish* paprika instead of the normal Hungarian paprika. (We don't all live in the US, so specific instructions as to what kind of "chili powder" and "paprika" would have been nice - they do differ immensely from country to country).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
good base recipe,,,but it's much better if you eliminate the chili powder,,authentic chorizo doesnt have it,,and tastes so much better without it...definitely used more paprika,,,has to be deep in color,,and most importantly,,,replace the vinegar with freshly squeezed lemon juice...makes all the difference in the world..my parents used to make this all the time..absolutely delicious...stores brands could never compare..also,,elminite the cloves,,do need them either...one last tidbit...use a cheese cloth or put in a strainer,,want to let the excess liquid drain out,,,still keeps the flavor though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Was just ok in my opinion! Local butcher makes a much better sausage. To much vinegar and chili powder ( never heard of those additions before ). I will stick to the traditional chorizo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHADOWS1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I love this recipe! The only time I don't make my own chorizo now is when I get given it as a gift. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDFIORO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrington, Cheshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Hebden Bridge, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Easy to make and worth the effort. This chorizo is better than any I have found in the stores. Use it with any recipe; it has a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States