Jim's Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
Well Jim, I have to say this is pretty darn good. I doctored it up a little bit though. Used 1/2 the pasta, 5 hardboiled eggs (since they were about to reach their pull date) a little green onion for color, some sweet relish, paprika, and celery salt, and I added a little extra mayo (light of course!) per others suggestions as well as a bit of sour cream. Took out the green peppers. Even with half the pasta it made about 8 cups of salad, which is perfect for us. This one goes in the recipe box. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2003
I made this for a bbq earlier this week and it went over so well that i am making it again this weekend for a reunion i'm sure it will be a hit there too!! I did add 4 extra hard boiled eggs on top for garnish as well as black pepper on top also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
Yummy! Easy to fix and makes a large quanity. New family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
Really good salad. Just like potato...except with macaroni. I didn't use the green pepper or the vinegar and used onion powder in place of the onions. I made this for a small get together and our company loved it enough they wanted the recipe. I love the eggs in this. Thanks for sharing James.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
Very good pasta salad Jim! Omitted the eggs and used 1 cup mayo and added 1/2c miracle whip...which I'm glad I did b/c after chilling, (as so many others mentioned) the noodles soak up alot of it! Only 1 person (of the 6 I served it to) didn't like it and I guess the majority rules! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
This was a really all-around good macaroni salad that my family enjoyed. I used sharp cheddar instead of american cheese though...a little more upscale, plus I hate processed american. Great for picnics!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Providence Village, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
This was a good recipe. However, I did make a few changes...I used pickle relish instead of dill pickles, added shrimp, used about 1/2 cup fat free thousand island dressing in place of some of the mayo, and used shredded cheddar cheese because that is what I had on hand. My husband loved it, which is my biggest success measure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
Jim you did it, this is great. I did add the extra mayo and think next time I'll use sour cream for the extra moisture. I left out the peppers (personal preference) and added about 1/2 of a cup of chopped celery. Will be serving this tonight with the Restaurant style cole slaw from this site and BBQ chicken. Did someone forget to tell me it is Spring and not Summer?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
This is an excellant salad. As others added more mayo. Im making it for the second time today for a birthday party but I am making it without the ham cause I dont have any I bet it will still be good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
This recipe made a HUGE bowl of salad. I would say much more than 8 – 10 servings. I would suggest using 12 ounces of macaroni, or increasing the cider vinegar to 1 ½ tablespoons and the mayonnaise to 1 ½ cups. Due to personal preference, I also substituted sweet pickle relish for the chopped dill pickles. Thanks Jim for sharing your family’s favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

How to Make Macaroni Salad

This classic macaroni salad recipe is the ideal side for picnics and barbeques.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States