Jim's Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2004
Wow. This is great. A trick I use for pasta and potato salads is to double the dressing and put 1/2 on when first made and then let the salad sit in the fridge so the flavors "marry". Then add some of the left over dressing right before you serve and when you want to eat the leftovers. Of course in this case there will probably be no leftovers as this salad is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
Well Jim, I have to say this is pretty darn good. I doctored it up a little bit though. Used 1/2 the pasta, 5 hardboiled eggs (since they were about to reach their pull date) a little green onion for color, some sweet relish, paprika, and celery salt, and I added a little extra mayo (light of course!) per others suggestions as well as a bit of sour cream. Took out the green peppers. Even with half the pasta it made about 8 cups of salad, which is perfect for us. This one goes in the recipe box. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
I also thought this was a little dry-definitely needs more mayonnaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2001
Yummm! This is a really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
This salad was a huge hit at a recent cookout, and it gets better the longer it sits in the fridge. We've played around with the recipe by adding bacon, fresh tomatoes and more pickles. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
Really good salad. Just like potato...except with macaroni. I didn't use the green pepper or the vinegar and used onion powder in place of the onions. I made this for a small get together and our company loved it enough they wanted the recipe. I love the eggs in this. Thanks for sharing James.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
Jim, this is a great recipe. Thanks. I made it for a dinner party (picnic) and everyone loved it. I did take the suggestions to add more wetness as 1 cup of mayo is not enough for the volume. I added 1 cup of lite sour cream (instead of mayo). The only other variation would be to use the small can of sliced olives as opposed to whole. This recipe is a keeper. I'm passing it around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
This recipe made a HUGE bowl of salad. I would say much more than 8 – 10 servings. I would suggest using 12 ounces of macaroni, or increasing the cider vinegar to 1 ½ tablespoons and the mayonnaise to 1 ½ cups. Due to personal preference, I also substituted sweet pickle relish for the chopped dill pickles. Thanks Jim for sharing your family’s favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LDYLVBGR
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I changed this up a little to our likes. I omitted the pimento peppers, bell pepper and cheese. I added in peas, sliced olives sour cream and a little more mayo. It's a good basic macaroni salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDYLVBGR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
Great recipe, thanks for posting it. I was out looking for a good macaroni salad when I ran across this one. I was making it just for me, my wife, and my daughter, but later in the day after helping a neighbor work on his roof he invited us over for a barbecue so I brought this new macaroni salad I made. Not knowing how it was going to taste since I just made it for the first time, I was pleasantly suprised that everyone at the barbecue kepted raving about it. Everyone kept asking me how I made it, and I told them how I got the recipe. Cheese combined with black olives and pimentos give it the right touch. Thanks again for a great, quick, and tasty macaroni salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ellsworth Afb, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

How to Make Macaroni Salad

This classic macaroni salad recipe is the ideal side for picnics and barbeques.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States