Jim's Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 27, 2004
Wow. This is great. A trick I use for pasta and potato salads is to double the dressing and put 1/2 on when first made and then let the salad sit in the fridge so the flavors "marry". Then add some of the left over dressing right before you serve and when you want to eat the leftovers. Of course in this case there will probably be no leftovers as this salad is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
I admit I had my doubts about the strange assortment of ingredients, but it's actually very tasty together. I omitted the cheese and substituted orange bell pepper for the green to give it a bit more color. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
Fantastic!!! This salad received rave reviews at our church potluck so I made it again for a cookout. Even my two guests that didn't care for macaroni salad (just ate it to be polite)had seconds! I omitted the cheese because I don't care for American cheese. I did add halved cherry tomatoes and seasoned with celery salt. This is definetly a keeper. Thanks Jim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
This salad was a huge hit at a recent cookout, and it gets better the longer it sits in the fridge. We've played around with the recipe by adding bacon, fresh tomatoes and more pickles. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
Pretty basic. I have a much better dressing from another receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
Good recipe. I added 1/2 cup miracle whip and 1/2 shrimp. Nice taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
Many thanks for this wonderful recipe. We have it A LOT during the summer with our many bbq's and we never tire of it. Sometimes, I just like having it for lunch. I send it with friends to take on vacation and I have had many requests for the recipe. I send them here to All Recipes to look you up. What else do you have to share? Revision...STILL the best and most requested salad I make (2008).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Voorhees, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2003
This is now my standard macaroni salad recipe. Everyone raves about how delicious it is. I did make a few small changes: increased the dressing by half again, substituted red pepper for green and substituted chunks of cheddar for the American cheese. Yummy. Thanks, Jim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
Excellent macaroni salad! I cut the recipe in half (there's only two of us) and it was mmm mmm good. This recipe has been permanently added to my recipe collection. Thanks for sharing your recipe Jim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
I cut the recipe in half & deleted the pickles (though I may add them next time), olives & cheese. I also added chopped celery and substituted red onion for the white, and red pepper for the green (as I happened to have red peppers in the house). I plan to add some tuna to some of it & have it for lunch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

How to Make Macaroni Salad

This classic macaroni salad recipe is the ideal side for picnics and barbeques.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States