Jim's Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This is a very tasty recipe! I like to let it sit overnight so the flavors can mingle. The one thing I changed was to use less macaroni. Because the recipe as it is makes A LOT of salad, but not enough sauce. I used about 12 ounces of macaroni vs. 16 ounces. Right now my 2 yr old is "Mmm Mmm!"-ing this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I was looking for a friends recipe and couldn't find it. Wow, lucky for me because this is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Best I have ever had. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
LOWER FAT ALTERNATIVE!! This recipe is fantastic but I wanted to make it a little lighter (holy calorie count!). Like others I used half the pasta and to make it more colorful, I used red onion and yellow, orange. and red bell peppers. I omitted the pimiento...texture issue...and hubby doesn't care for black olives - left them out, too. Swapped reduced fat cheddar cheese for american. All that in mind - and having cut the pasta in half - I left all the other quantities the same (to deal with the dry dressing issue). For the 1 cup of mayo I used half light mayo/half non-fat plain greek yogurt. These slight modifications don't do much to change the taste (it's FABULOUS!!) and it's much lighter from the light mayo and greek yogurt. You could also use low-fat/non-fat sour cream with about the same results. Excellent recipe, Jim...Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDOUGLAS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Love this recipe and have made it too many times to count! Works great with potato as well. I do always make a double batch of the sauce and use as needed because I also feel that as written it can be a little dry. I'm not a big fan of sweet salads so the dill pickles is a hit with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Even after adding extra mayo to the salad it was still very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I'm giving 5 stars because it's a great recipe to begin with and it's also a great jumping off point. After the first "by the recipe" batch(which was great) I knew how I would "tweak" it the next time. Replaced dill pickles with "bread 'n' butter"(and lots of 'em). Bell pepper out...celery in. Thin slices of chopped ham instead of olives & I thinned out the dressing with a little pickle juice. Those are my changes to a great original recipe and for the first time ever I can say "YIPPEE" to a macaroni salad!! I never thought that would happen. I'm so stoked I'm thinking about trying that Amish mac salad recipe I've seen on this site. Wish me luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
A basic, tasty macaroni salad that allows lots of add-in choices based on personal preference. I added ham but not olives. Sweet relish instead of dill pickles. Found it necessary to thin the dressing slightly - used milk plus a little liquid from a jar of hot and sweet salad peppers. I followed other reviewers' suggestions to add celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Great with few changes. I made with 8 oz tiny shells, 2 eggs, and kept the other ingredients the same amounts. As everyone says, up, up, up the dressing! I used sweet pickle relish instead of dill, and Velveeta Shreds for the cheese. A little celery salt, & perfect! I'll add a little dressing before serving tonight. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
What a wonderful change from the usual "ho-hum" macaroni salad. We're in a Northeast "heatwave" so cooked this up this morning and will have for dinner w/grilled steaks. (I've already sampled it so know how wonderful it's going to be!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States