Jim's Cheddar Onion Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Not one of my favorite breads. Don't think I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill & Glenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stoutland, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
We *really really* enjoyed this! Halved recipe - used green onions - also had to add extra milk (scant 3/4 cup for half recipe). Note to myself: Next time, don't be afraid to pat down to 2 inches as directed - I was a little concerned it wouldn't rise much, so I left mine at probably 3 1/2" or so and sure nuff: It was HUGE! sliced cross in top which gave it much needed spread - nix the dry flour on top and try a butter/garlic topping instead. Thanks so much for recipe - will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Loved this!! Has a biscuit-like texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Went perfectly with my Irish stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Loved this bread. Very quick and easy to prepare and tastes even better the second day. I froze one loaf for later since there are just two of us at home. I used green onions, chopped fine which gave the bread a nice flavor. This is a recipe I will make again. Speed, ease, flavor, this is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CGG

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I followed the recipe as written and made the optional biscuit version. We all liked them and I will make again. I think these would be great for any kind of BBQ food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This was awesome. It was dense, but a great flavor. I will use this for more than just corned beef once a year - would be great with soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
First time very disappointed because of the texture and then realized that it did not have any baking soda (which is necessary when using buttermilk). Anyway, now use 1 tsp. baking powder and 1 tsp. of baking soda hence it tastes more like my own soda bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
The flavour was good. I used extra old cheddar and chives from our garden, but the dough was so thick, even after adding extra buttermilk, that even though I baked the loaves longer than indicated in the recipe, the middle was still undercooked. I may try again with even more buttermilk. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Ugh. Did not like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States