Jim's Birthday Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Excellent! It's really beyond me why this recipe has only 3.5 stars because it is really wonderful. The lemon zest and basil give it a wonderful fresh, vibrant flavor and I don't recommend omitting either one. I used farfalle instead of penne and added black olives. I'll definitely make this again; my husband and I really enjoyed it. Give it a try! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
If you buy marinated artichoke hearts you dont need to worry about the lemon zest or basil. I used cherry tomatoes cut in half. I love chick peas so I was excited to try this pasta. I thought it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoog

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Suggestion: Needs a little color, so add red/green/yellow peppers OR broccoli florets OR peas. I doubled the dressing. I'm keeping this recipe around because it looks like a more sophisticated salad (because of the artichoke hearts and chick peas), but it's actually quick-from-the-pantry and easy as can be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYMAGICWORD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Quick, easy, and tasty. I needed a last minute pot luck dish, and these are items we all usually have on hand. The only thing I added was some sliced olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This is one good pasta salad. I added some sliced black olives, cubed pepperoni and a few other vegs and it made it a colorful mixture. I als used kens italian dresssing. very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junglistic

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This was a really good way to get my family to eat something vegetarian and a bit healthier. We used garden pasta and added more veggies (roasted red peppers, steamed spinach, sauteed mushrooms). We also used a tuscan season blend with olive oil in place of the dressing. We added some feta the second day, which worked well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I really enjoyed this salad. Brought it to Easter dinner, and everyone seemed to like it, but there was another pasta salad that was enjoyed more, so I had lots left over. I used wagon wheel pasta for fun, and having read a lot of the comments here before I made it, I did add red pepper and black olives. I like the fresh flavour of the salad, and as I am eating leftovers for lunch today I am considering adjusting the ratio of pasta to other ingredients, so that I have more of a "salad with pasta" instead of a "pasta salad" for lunches for work. Otherwise, I really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
It was okay, but missing something. I added sliced black olives and some red wine vinegar to the dressing. Was better the 2nd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States