Jim's Birthday Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Quick, easy, and tasty. I needed a last minute pot luck dish, and these are items we all usually have on hand. The only thing I added was some sliced olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Suggestion: Needs a little color, so add red/green/yellow peppers OR broccoli florets OR peas. I doubled the dressing. I'm keeping this recipe around because it looks like a more sophisticated salad (because of the artichoke hearts and chick peas), but it's actually quick-from-the-pantry and easy as can be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYMAGICWORD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Excellent! It's really beyond me why this recipe has only 3.5 stars because it is really wonderful. The lemon zest and basil give it a wonderful fresh, vibrant flavor and I don't recommend omitting either one. I used farfalle instead of penne and added black olives. I'll definitely make this again; my husband and I really enjoyed it. Give it a try! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
If you buy marinated artichoke hearts you dont need to worry about the lemon zest or basil. I used cherry tomatoes cut in half. I love chick peas so I was excited to try this pasta. I thought it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoog

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
It was okay, but missing something. I added sliced black olives and some red wine vinegar to the dressing. Was better the 2nd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This is one good pasta salad. I added some sliced black olives, cubed pepperoni and a few other vegs and it made it a colorful mixture. I als used kens italian dresssing. very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junglistic

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I really enjoyed this salad. Brought it to Easter dinner, and everyone seemed to like it, but there was another pasta salad that was enjoyed more, so I had lots left over. I used wagon wheel pasta for fun, and having read a lot of the comments here before I made it, I did add red pepper and black olives. I like the fresh flavour of the salad, and as I am eating leftovers for lunch today I am considering adjusting the ratio of pasta to other ingredients, so that I have more of a "salad with pasta" instead of a "pasta salad" for lunches for work. Otherwise, I really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This was a really good way to get my family to eat something vegetarian and a bit healthier. We used garden pasta and added more veggies (roasted red peppers, steamed spinach, sauteed mushrooms). We also used a tuscan season blend with olive oil in place of the dressing. We added some feta the second day, which worked well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Awesome Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a pasta salad filled with lots of good stuff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States