Jim's Apple Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
We have reviewed this recipe for errors based on the complaints, and have changed the amount of eggs from 3 to 2 as per the original submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
Wonderful and special. A little heavy so it doesn't take many to fill up on and so delicious! If I wanted somebody to remember me for my waffles, this is the recipe to do it. Sweet but not too much so....liked it better with with a drizzle of light corn syrup than the maple syrup (of course, butter). Next time, I will separate the eggs and whip up the whites separately and fold them in at the end to see if they would be more airy and lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
They turned out great! The kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
I used a little less powdered milk after being scared by the first guy, but other than that followed it and it came out nice and sweet with absolutely no complaints. I think they were delicious, and plan to use this recipe a lot in the future. It makes a nice variation in the breakfast routine. You can always just plain use milk, and skip the powdered milk and water “problem.” But I find the idea of using powdered milk to be a nice alternative...for those days when there is no milk in the house...you can still make a really nice breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
Wish I would have gone by the three stars and skipped this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly. I used a plate size belgian waffle baker and it made six. They looked and smelled nice but the taste was lacking and the texture was way too chewy. I can't imagine if I had made these on a traditional waffle iron, where they would have been thinner -- they would have tasted like rubber -- or a hockey puck as another reviewer mentioned. They were way too heavy and had little flavor. If you've ever had a good waffle these are unacceptable. Sorry, Jim! If for some reason you still want to try this good luck, but be prepared to be dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
The batter was EXTREMELY thick, so I did add more water to reach the right consistency, and I cut back the cinnamon because I think it would have overwhelmed the apples. These waffles were tough and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
I have to agree that I did not like this recipe at all. Admittedly, I made a few changes--I substituted apple pie filling for the apples and adjusted other ingredients accordingly--but I still was very disappointed with these waffles. We ate 1 1/2 and threw the rest away. Perhaps if I had followed the recipe exactly they would have been better. Or perhaps these particular waffles don't suit my family's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
Sorry, Jim, but these were awful. With all the powdered milk, they didn't even smell good. The batter was too thick. I ended up adding about half a cup of sugar and a cup of water before my kids would eat them, then they joked about using them as hockey pucks because they were so tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Banana Waffles

Make delicious waffles with bananas cooked inside the batter.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States