Jim's Apple Raisin Pound Cake with Praline Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I made this cake with a few revisions, it is excellent. I used two cups chunky apple sauce and added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. Also added 1/2 cup extra flour, to make up for added moisture of applesauce. When I made the glaze I added 1/4 cup Brandy instead of vanilla, remove from flame when adding it. It is now one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galesburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Loved by lots when I made. I made this according to recipe with some small changes because I didn't have everything on hand. My changes were since I didn't have allspice I used 1 1/4 teaspoons cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon of ground clove and 1/4 teaspoon of grated whole nutmeg. I also didn't have quiet a half cup of half and half so I added dark rum, around 2 tablespoons. I think this actually thinned the glaze a tad, but it soaked into the cake and made it super moist. It was definitely a hit and also a goner. Will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
totally delicious! Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
l brought this cake to a potluck supper and everyone loved it.lt was moist and the topping made the cake tastier.Thanks alot everyone wanted this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Man, oh man, this is a delicious cake. I followed the recipe exactly, except used a caramel glaze instead. The cake itself is now my only way to kick off Autumn. Hearty yet super moist- simply awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
This cake was very easy to make. I found it moist and delicious and I didn't even make the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I served this to a dinner party of 13 people and everyone raved about it. It is delicious and so easy to make. The sauce is delicious and adds extra sweetness. I'll definiately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Made this cake for my family last evening. Served it while it was still a little warm and not one piece was left. I did add some extra spices to the cake like 1 teaspoon each of ginger and nutmeg then 1 tablespoon of cinnamon. I only used 1/2 cup of crop pecans in the glaze. The glaze harden into a candy like shell which broke a part when we cut into it. I'm not sure if I did something wrong but the guess just gathered up the broken pieces and ate that too. Already getting request to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Really was plain I followed directions and felt the cake really needed something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Felecia1331
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Completely amazing! Nothing should be changed about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felecia1331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Sterling, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States