Jimmy's Mexican Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
I have used dozens of recipes and never felt so inclined to write a review. I have been a vegetarian for 18 years, so I substitued the ground beef with Morningstar Crumbled Grillers...once you add all of the spices and other ingredients, you can't even tell the difference. My husband loved it...he ate the entire pizza by himself. The only thing I would suggest is that you use your favorite salsa, as much of the flavor comes from this one ingredient. This recipe is a new staple in our house. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
I made this last night for my boyfriend's dinner, and he loved it. The only other thing that I did was double the meat, onions and refried beans; I made a double layer of this filling, and added 1 more tortilla to the top. (3 altogether). This really came out wonderful. Thank you Jimmy for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avenel, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I could have sworn I had tortillas in the freezer so when I realized I didn't, I decided to just use regular canned pizza crust for this recipe. I used ground turkey, baked the crust for ten minutes and then added all of the ingredients. It was a hit with my family Jimmy and thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
great recipe. i skipped the pie pan and first poked holes in tortillas so they would not puff and toasted them in the oven to crisp up. then made pizza's and baked on cookie sheet until cheese melted. added a little cilantro also to toppings. reheated very well the next day. next time i will add more of the bean and meat mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa r

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Delicious and easy to make. One bit of advice: don't add the garlic and onion to beef and then drain your fat. You pour off a lot of the flavor of the garlic and onions that way. Sauté your G&O's first, set aside on plate then add beef to pan, brown, drain and mix together with G&O. Great dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
I didn't think this was anything like Taco Bell's Mexican pizza; I thought it was WAY better. Apart from adding a litte fajita seasoning to the meat, I made this as stated, and it turned out great. Quick, easy and tasty. Thanks, Jimmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dianamtu
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
really good imitation of taco bell's mexican pizza and so much healthier i'm sure. I used ground turkey, black beans, and fajita sized tortillas instead and they worked fine. I baked the tortillas for a few minutes in the oven first just to crisp them up before layering the beans and meat on. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianamtu

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
This was really good. I cooked my tortillas some before I put it all together, but I didn't change any seasonings or ingredients. I noticed a LOT of people suggested using taco seasoning, but I can't stand that stuff and much prefer the simple seasonings in this recipe. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
This was quite good! I used a whole pound of hamburger, so I also added another clove of garlic. We did not top with jalapeno because we're wimpy! I especially like the tomato on top. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I used this recipe as a base for mexican pizza. I changed/added some ingredients to fit our tastes. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook4Love2010

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

El Paso Pizza

Pizza gets Chef John’s Tex-Mex treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States