Jimmy's Mexican Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
My mom used to make something like this when I was a kid, from a recipe she got at work from a friend. I decided to try it myself. It's rather easy to make, just a little messy with all of the components. I can think of ways to sub ingredients to ones taste or what's in the fridge and still keep with the Mexican flavors. One change I made was subbing about 1/2 package of ground Johnsonville sausage for the ground hamburger. I decided to save some time and baked them in my NuWave oven. I would have liked them a little more crisp, but the texture is similar to what I remember as a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Love this recipe. Did the same as David and at the end I crumbled tortilla chips all over it then piled on the pico and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Excellent Mexican Pizza recipe! The layers held together perfectly; it sliced like a dream after sitting only 5 minutes, and the flavor was awesome. As my other half said - it's definitely a keeper! We made ours with quinoa instead of meat - just cook 1 cup water with the spices and 1/2 cup quinoa like rice, then let sit 5 minutes and fluff like couscous - then use as a direct substitute for the meat. Texture is near perfect for ground meat, and lots of protein, too! There were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
easy to make and delicious! A bit messy when eating so have some napkins ready. The best part was I made both but before the last oven step I wrapped one in aluminum foil and froze it, I took it out about a week later and baked it at 350 for 40 mins and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
awesome!! everyone loved this and perfect size for company as well! one box of spanish rice will do and use 1 lb of beef. really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Our new favorite dish, I and my husband love this dish. Definitly make it again. it is really taste and feels you up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gbv239
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Soooo good! I used ground turkey, lessened the chilli powder so as not to be too spicy, whole wheat tortillas, and left out the refried beans. I added some extra cheese and some olives here and there and it was heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEDGE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I tried this with both flour and corn tortillas and they are both amazing! I too baked the tortillas before filling. I brushed them with melted butter and baked at 350 for about 10 minutes, until slightly browned and crisp. I used my normal "go-to" taco meat seasoning: 2 tsp chili powder, 1 tsp red pepper flakes, 1 tsp cumin, 1 tsp cayenne, 1/2-1 onion (depending on size), 1 tsp minced garlic, 1/2 tsp oregano, season salt and pepper; we like spicy in our house. I topped it with lots of cheese, diced tomato, green onion, black olive, taco sauce and a dollop of sour cream; taco sauce because I think salsa would make it mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I made this per recipe and I have to wonder if the spice quantities have changed on the website. The meat mixture was inedible, the spices were far too heavy for this amount of meat. I can't believe we are the only ones who had this issue with the recipe. I would definitely make this again with a few changes - mainly I'd use 1/10th of the spices. I made the second pizza with no meat at all, just beans, and everyone loved it. Served it with sour cream and guacamole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

El Paso Pizza

Pizza gets Chef John’s Tex-Mex treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States