Jimmy's Mexican Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
We loved this recipe! I made it with fat free refried beans and low fat tortillas. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARGOKIDD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
This was really good! I added some water to the ground beef and spices and let it simmer. I also left out the jalepenos just because they are too hot for our family. My picky 5 year old asked me to make this again. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
This was so tasty! It had a nice combination of flavors. It had a similar flavor of a burrito but a nicer presentation. I omitted the jalapeno peppers for the kids' sake, and we had sour cream on the side. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
I signed on just to let you know this recipe was the best. If you are in the mood for a mexican pizza from Taco Bell forget it this was way better. I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
Excellent basic Tex-Mex recipe! Wouldn't change a thing, except to add a little liquid (like beer or water) to the ground beef while it is browning, and use a potato masher to break it up while it is cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMY3600

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Booneville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
What a great, fun recipe with delicious results! This dish has a beautiful presentation - very colorful and festive! I didn't have any salsa and used bottled enchilada sauce instead - the blend of spices of vegetables was very complementary. Will be my meal next year for Cinco de Mayo! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLISONHALEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
Yum Yum Yum Yum Yum Yum Yum Yum Yum Yum Yum Yum Yum Yum Yum Yum Yum Yum Yum Yum Yum Yum Yum Yum. When that need for Mexican hits, this one does the trick! Thanks Jimmy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
Quick, easy and tasty. Had all the ingredients on hand, went together quickly and voila! yummy mexican pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Bend, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
This recipe is easy to adapt to your family's taste. I did subtitute green bell pepper for the jalapeno peppers and removed the green onions. I omitted on half of a tortilla the refried beans and salsa for my eldest son. All the family enjoyed it. The only drawback is that it is quite long to prepare, but I must admit I added water (about 3/4 cup) with the spices after cooking the meat and allowed to simmer. I think however that this step worth the extra time it as it increased the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
I really liked this because it's like others have said - I already had all the ingredients in the house. I agree with another reviewer who stated to add a small amount of liquid into the ground beef mixture. I used 95% lean meat, so not alot of fat or juice, and the seasonings made it dry, but with just alittle water, it was fine. I didn't use the pie pan - we just fixed them on cookie sheets and they came out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

El Paso Pizza

Pizza gets Chef John’s Tex-Mex treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States