Jimmy Dean Southwestern Sausage Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
My family loved these. We had a family get to gether and they thought they were great. I found them a little heavy but I am still getting use to American food. Thank you for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremen, Bremen, Germany
Living In: Lanham, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
I've made this twice in the last two days for work events and these are TERRIFIC! Perfect for breakfast! SO TASTY! Depending on the type of salsa and sausage you use, these can potentially be fairly SPICY. I used regular on both and they still have a little bite to them. These can be made ahead the night before and then in the morning I just pop them in the oven and you're good to go! Will make again and again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
WOW! If you're not ready to eat 6 of these, don't try ONE BITE! VERY tasty! All my guests loved these. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari the Amazon
Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Instead of pie crust I use the flakey biscuits and pull the layers apart to make my crust. The cooking time is shorter with the biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Gilliam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Followed the recipe exactly and these turned out great. I used mild salsa and it gave these enough flavor, medium or hot salsa would have been overpowering. One note - when the salsa & egg cook together it makes the insides look pink and one person thought I hadn't browned the sausage enough! Just thought it was worth mentioning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
I made these the night before as another reader suggested and cooked them the next morning to bring to the office. They were gone in minutes and everyone raved about them. However, I made 22 with 2 piecrusts and I have leftover filling - I think the recipe will make around 30 or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Great, you can make ahead the and fill in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Delicious! I only had shredded mozzarella so I used that instead of cheddar, but it was still delicious. Next time I think I will add some jalapeños to spice it up a little and maybe use Pepper Jack Cheese. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
This was a very tasty snack. I served these along side tomato soup. I will probably make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States