Jimmy Dean Hearty Sausage Mini Quiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
doubled the recipe as they freeze great. Added spinach, YUM! Wonderful healthy alternative for the kid's breakfast that is not processed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Ok - I just tried this recipe for the first time and it was a hit at the brunch today. I followed the recipe fairly close but made a few minor changes after reading all the reviews. First, I used half or the recommended sausage. Second, I did not use baking cups but sprayed a non-stick olive oil spray and had no problems. They came right out of the pan. Third, the only vegetable that I added were the green onions as this was a family brunch with a lot of young children attending. I used both cheddar (1/2 cup) and mozzarella (1/4 cup) and I sprinkled a small amount of grated parmesan cheese on top of the un-baked mixture. Then I baked them. I also added the southern style hash brown potatoes and it made twelve regular size quiches. Very good - everyone loved them and this will now be a holiday regular for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KHONEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I followed this recipe to a "T" In the end, the sausage was way too overpowering. We like our meat, but I would actually cut it in half if I ever make this again. Also, it says it makes 12, but I needed to quickly scramble a couple of more eggs to make that work. I'd highly recommend adding additional herbs/spices as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I varried the veggies & add ins for each of my boys & they all loved them. Totally making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
We will use this again, we liked the individual serving size. Easy to personalize to your likings. Fits perfectly into 12 muffin tins. i didn't use liners I sprayed with olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
My family liked these, along with slices of pineapple. I forgot the salt & pepper in the egg mixture. (Not good to forget the seasonings.) I compensated by sprinkling each quiche with salt & pepper. I plan to make these again, experimenting with different meat and cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I used evaporated milk in this recipe for a richer flavor and added a good amount of fresh minced garlic and a little red pepper flake. I did take the recipe suggestion and sprinkle the top of each omelette cup with parmesan. These were unbelieveably good. NOTE: I've made something like this before so I knew to measure out about 1/4 cup of the egg mixture into each muffin tin without over/underfilling. I was able to get nine mini omelettes out of one recipe, not twelve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I used the hash browns, which made these more like mini breakfast bakes than quiches. But they were still super easy to make and fun for my guests. I love how adaptable the recipe is, and that it is gluten-free. I chose to grease my muffin tin rather than use muffin cups - probably not the best decision, as it was very difficult to scrub out the baked-on egg. These stored in the refrigerator well, so I was able to make them in advance and reheat quickly the morning I needed them. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I love this recipe- very quick and easy. I was able to customize each cup for each person without doing a lot of work. I did saute the hash browns and veggies together, did the meat on the side of the veggies so I could do a veggie option, or mixed (I used turkey kielbasa and chorizo) before I put into the cups- and they were all tender and very flavorful. I did not use baking cups. Instead, I smeared butter in the inside of the cups so the wouldn't stick, and they came right out. Very light and fluffy. Will become a staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Let me first say that these are DELICIOUS. I did make some changes, but I followed the recipe fairly closely. Instead of regular pork sausage, I used the pre-cooked crumbled turkey sausage. Not only does it save time, but it saves a lot of fat and calories too. I loaded the quiche with veggies: zuchinni, green onion, bell pepper and carrots. By adding so many veggies, I was able to get 24 mini quiches out of this recipe. By following a previous tip of putting the sausage mixture into the muffin tin and topping with egg, I had NO problem getting the quiches out of the pan. I did not use any paper liners. Once out of the oven, I flipped the quiches on to a baking sheet and put them in the freezer so I could then put them into a ziploc bag. Making a big batch of these and freezing them allows me to have quiche anytime! Just put two in the microwave for a minute and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherBitner

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Potato and Chorizo Mini Quiches

See how to make bite-size party quiches with potato and chorizo sausage.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States