Jimmy Dean Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Absolutely perfect! I made it 2 ways, one for a work function and one for us to eat (low fat). They both were fantastic. For my low fat version I used Egg Beaters and skim milk, 2% cheese. For the one I took to work this morning I used the full fat versions. It was a HIT with my team! I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I had several left over rolls that were hardened through and through. I was determined to use them instead of throwing out and came upon this recipe. It worked great and was delicious for a New Years breakfast. There were several other improvisions to accomodate what I had on hand. I used 2 packages (10 links each) breakfast sausage links, heated and sliced; 5 slices swiss cheese, shredded pepper jack cheese and grated Parmesean cheese instead of cheddar cheese; added fresh diced mushrooms, green pepper, and onion; the bread amount was slightly more than 6 cups, so I threw in an exta egg but left milk amount alone; used 1-1/2 cup milk and 1-1/2 cup half-and-half. After cooking full 60 minutes in stoneware the consistency was perfect. Maybe using very dry bread helped soak up the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I made this for breakfast on Christmas and halved the recipe since it's just 2 of us. It was okay. We ate it as well as the leftovers, but it won't be a repeat. The egg mixture so thoroughly soaked the bread that my husband didn't even realize there was any bread in it! The casserole did not taste soggy per se and it wasn't wet, it was just softer than we prefer and almost mushy. This recipe is worth repeating though with less milk (for a full recipe I would cut the milk down to 2 cups) and maybe cooked, diced potatoes instead of the bread. That sounds yummy! I'll bet the suggested additions of mushrooms, tomato, and green onion would be really good, especially if you saute the mushrooms first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Second time I have made it and just likethe first time turned out fantastic. Football Sunday brunch favorite at my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey Frazier Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miller
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Christmas Morning! Changed a few things... No Mushrooms for JP, used Half & Half in place of milk, Bottom layer oat-nut bread, top layer sourdough, Added Bacon, Added top layer of cheese with about 10 left to cook. Everyone loved it and the bread did not get too much like stuffing which happens in some of the breakfast casseroles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
We have been making this same exact casserole for Christmas breakfast for 17 years now and the whole family loves it!!! It is really good with bacon added and I serve syrup on the side because it is used a lot! You must put it together the night before for it to turn out properly when baked and make sure you use enough bread! That is the key.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I made it the night before and cooked it in the morning. It was great. Everyone loved it. We all thought of some tweeks we could do, as suggested, onion, pepers, salsa, etc. but it was very good as is. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Made this for May Run out at the camp, and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I make this every year for Christmas brunch! I do leave out the mushrooms & tomatoes , but everyone lives it! I really like the fact that it can be prepared the evening before!!! Just pop it in the oven while we're opening presents!!! Yummy!!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This was really good and easy to throw together. I used the precooked sausage crumbles, but since I didn't have the required amount, I also added bacon and onion. I just used the mushrooms and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States