Jimmy Dean Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Gaby “The one and only” Lawyer
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I love this recipe! With the key ingredients, I like to add a few vegetables (broccoli, kale, etc.) & even cubed apples & cranberries, which the kids really love; and since I always manage to have left over pieces of Asiago, garlic or other bread types that I keep in the freezer, I use that for the cubed bread. Yummy! I found it easier to bake it in a muffin tray instead & being that they freeze very well, it makes breakfast a breeze when in a hurry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I substituted shredded bagels for the bread, red & green bell peppers for the mushrooms & tomatoes and added a generous portion of Creole seasoning to liven this recipe up. The bagels seem to hold up better to the egg mixture and don't get too soggy. (PS - don't forget to drain the sausage after you cook it or it'll add too much moisture!) Its now become a staple in our house whenever we have house-guests, a long weekend or a holiday. (I substitute the meat for chopped ham for Easter, Turkey sausage for Thanksgiving, andouille sausage for Mardy Gras, etc) I love it with vanilla yogurt on side, but Hubby prefers it with hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsSingleton
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I have tried this before, absolutely delicious. I left mine in the fridge over night. And baked it this morning. Along with some grits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
YUM! Was a hit with the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rutland, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
this is really so delicious. It was a hit and everyone is asking me for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Yummy! Followed the recipe pretty close - added a few extra eggs for extra mouths to feed. Used the mushrooms and some cherry tomatoes, and the Jimmy Dean Sage Sausage. My only problem was that the center wasn't getting done, even after 55 minutes, so I ended up having to microwave it for a few minutes. The center puffed up nicely and solidified, and it tasted delicious, so the microwaving didn't do any harm in the last few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I made this recipe and brought into work this morning. The entire pan is gone. I've been asked to bring it again next week. I followed the directions and took the advise of other users and swapped the bread for hashbrowns. I used the ones with onions and peppers to add flavor without the extra work. I made it up the night before and baked it this morning and it turned out beautifully. Will definitely be adding to the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Tried this recipe this morning! Delish! I had to talk myself out of having thirds!!! I had only hot and spicy breakfast sausage on hand, so decided to make it a spicey version. I added green onion and diced jalapeño to it, and the flavor combo was awesome. Would be amazing with mushrooms but I didn't have any on hand. I think the dried mustard adds some serious flavor to the egg mixture! Don't forget it! I will be making this casserole in the future for sure - I want to try different optional ingredients too: bacon, tomato, potatoes, etc. It makes a good amount, so it would be great for a family get together :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Made this exactly as the basic recipe. Also made a half recipe for several neighbors who were expecting company at Christmas. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This was so much fun for me to put together! We do not eat red meats so we seasoned some group turkey and cooked up some turkey bacon, diced some tomatoes, put some fresh spinach and started layering it up! We loved it! Was even good for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States