Jimmbo's Garlic Knots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
My husband and I love getting garlic knots from this little Italian restaurant down the road. So we were excited to find this recipe online, and seeing how it was the only one that looked closest to what we knew. But when we tried it, we used a 13 ounce can of pizza dough instead of 10. However, we used less of the ingredients. We used the salt as directed (we still thought it was a bit much) and 2 tablespoons of minced garlic instead of 6 and everything else the same. The garlic was even just a BIT much for us and the salt was so strong, we threw the rest of our garlic knots out. Next time we'll be using just a pinch of salt as it overpowered everything. Other than that we think the alterations of the recipe would be just fine. Can't wait to try it again. Thank you for posting this though, it's the closest we've come to finding the real deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Whoa!! These things are out of this world! I used challah dough (any homemade white bread dough will do). I put all the ingredients (except for the cheese because I wanted this dairy free) in a big bowl and rolled the hot rolls around the bowl. Then I set them on a tray to dry. I served this with a big Greek salad and my family was raving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I wanted to like this recipe, I really did. Perhaps I didn't do something right but it just tasted greasy. Perhaps it was because I used minced garlic instead of fresh. I had difficulty getting the oil to stick and soak in the knots. They were good, but not what I was expecting. I also thought the knots were better the next day after they sat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GatorGuff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Land O Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
The whole family loves these. The only tip I have is not to use garlic from a jar! Someone had left some at our house and I used it in order to save time. It ruined the knots. I had to convince the whole family to try them again. Now we eat them frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made these using Jay's Signature Pizza crust recipe from this site. They were awesome! There was a lot of garlic left in the bowl, but that was probably for the best. They were still very garlicy just from the garlic-infused oil. I made about 20 of them, and they were gone by the end of the meal eaten by my three girls. Two of them are under five and they loved them too! My four year old said next time I make them she will eat them all herself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Howard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Fantastic! Sooooo yummy! I used a fresh pizza dough made by my grocery's bakery- everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I liked the flavor of these but the process didn't seem to work. Next time I make them I will mix the oil, cheese, garlic, etc and then pour it over the knots without taking them out of the pan and then bake a little longer to melt the cheese. Also, there was no bake time for the knots and I believe it took me about 12 minutes to get them golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madmegan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seminole, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
These were really good. I did a few things differently but I don't think it made a difference in the taste. First I used my homemade pizza dough and second I melted the butter with the garlic in it for awhile on the stove and brushed on the dough before cooking. Then I stirred in the parmesan and brushed the rest of the mixture on after they came out of the oven. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
These were just ok. I liked the idea of it, so next time I would make it and season it a little more to my family's liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
LOVED these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, New York, USA
Living In: Raymore, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States