Jimmbo's Garlic Knots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
My family loved these garlic knots! I must admit that I used an 11 oz. can of refrigerator breadstick dough in place of the pizza dough, and it worked just fine (I didn't want to bother with rolling out the pizza dough)--tie each pre-cut strip of breadstick dough into a knot and bake at 375 until golden (about 12 minutes). The only other thing I would mention about this recipe is that I don't think you need nearly the amount of topping (garlic, cheese, etc.) that is called for--most of it won't stick to the amount of knots you will make. I had a lot of topping left over at the bottom of the bowl after spending quite a while mincing all that garlic. Nonetheless, great flavor, and now a family favorite in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee Bergquist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This was close to the ones I get at my favorite pizza place. I will try using shaker parm. cheese next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
these were really good!!! I took about half a stick of butter & melted, adding two garlic cloves that I put through my garlic press & sprinkled some basil in the mix too. Spoon drizzled over the knots before I baked. They took about 7 minutes in the oven. Served to two families that came over this past weekend with my spaghetti & meatballs & there were only 3 left! Eating for lunch today! Will definatly make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This was delicious! I used left over pizza dough I had in the fridge. I used Garlic oil on the bread instead of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MENZIETO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Came out pretty dry and hard. I prefer a softer garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I used this recipe as a base to inspire. I used refrigerated bread stick dough and cut each stick in half to form the knots. Instead of olive oil, I used just a few T. of melted butter, with 1 clove of minced, fresh basil, 2T. parm. cheese finely chopped, and salt. I cooked the knots until lightly golden and then tossed into the butter mixture. I then pulled the knots out of the butter, so they would not be soggy. These were great this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Durham Byrd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I don't know what happened. I baked the dough and then drizzled the oil & sprinkled the seasonings and lightly tossed the knots in a large bowl. But the cheese & seasonings lumped together and there was FAR too much garlic. I'll keep looking.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
These were good-- spicy!! I screwed up making them and combined the olive oil with the seasonings before I realized what I had done. Since I knew it wouldn't look as nice spreading it on after it cooked, I cooked it with the spread on. I look forward to trying it again the correct way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Great recipe, Jimmbo! I have made these twice because I wanted to see what the difference would be between dipping them in the olive oil mixture before and after baking. The after was way less messy. But I thought both were equally delicious. Thanks for a great addition to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
These were easy and so good. I decided to dip the unbaked dough into the mixture prior to baking instead of after. My gang really enjoyed them Jim and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States