Jim Goode's BBQ Beef Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Looking for a rub recipe to compliment our ribeyes I turned to this. I followed all the ingredients with the exception of the white pepper, which I didn't have. We're not heavy pepper fans so it worked for us. I mixed the rub ingredients and put them on our ribeyes and let them set while the charcoal grill was heating up. I really wish I had made this earlier and let them sit for a bit. The rub was good and not overpowering and complimented the meat well. Next time I will prepare ahead and let them hang out for awhile before tossing on the grill to get the extra flavor boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I only made one substution because I did not have coriander seed. I used a half teaspoon of ground coriander. I rubbed this on chicken. Really, really good. Probably one of the best spice mixtures I've ever made. Sure the title says "beef" but it's excellent on chicken, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I've been making this rub for over 10 years and haven't found a better one yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This is sooo good. I used it on baby back ribs and it was delicious. I put the rub on the ribs and put them in the refrig over night. The next day I wrapped them in foil and baked them for 4 hours at 225 degrees. Then I took them out and put BBQ sauce all over them and cook them on a medium quill for about 10 minutes, to give them that saucy appearance like in the restaurant. My husband does not like baby back ribs but he loved these. My whole family loved them. I will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This has become the standard in my kitchen. Works on everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Fantastic basic rub!!! Can be used on just about on anything. I always keep some in a shaker bottom to sprinkle on my meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This rub is fantastic. Used it on a brisket prior to a mango-infused marinade (for tenderizing). It's so delicious I just can't stop eating! My doctor is going to be mad at my cholesterol level... Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Good, but I think we put it on a little to heavily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I doubled this recipe for 2 racks of baby back ribs.I give my ribs alot of TLC and it is worth it in the end and this rub made my ribs just so so good! Wednesday evening I rubbed the ribs. Double wrapped them with foil and they sat in the frige for 24 hours. Thursday evening I baked them for 4 hours at 250 degrees in the foil on a cookie sheet. Back in the frige. Friday afternoon we took the ribs for a 200 mile ride to the PA mountains. Saturday they sat on the edge of our camp fire for 3 more hours while we did spring clean up. Dinner was so good and thise ribs fell right off the bone after all that TLC! Looking forward to cooking ribs again the same way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
mmmmm wow! it's like bbq for dummies, you cannot screw up! i used it on beef ribs and pork ribs and even tofu. i wrap it with the rub, throw in grill on high, then turn down low for about an hour. then baste with bbq sauce at the end. i can't believe i made such tender ribs, like magic. i'd add some cayenne to this for some kick. i made in oven too, just cover with foil. all these herbs and spices together are a perfect combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bayard, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States