Jill's World-Famous Coffee Liqueur Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I used a different type of pan entirely, so while I can't necessarily speak for the accuracy of the baking time or temperature as written, I CAN say these are delicious, and well worth trying, regardless of what size pan you use - just bake them until the brownie looks set, starts to pull away from the sides, and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out ALMOST clean, but a few crumbs still remain on the toothpick. Any more than that and you'll surely overbake them. In my case, I used the little 6-mold heart pan by Wilton. They're kind of shallow, and this recipe scaled down to 5 servings gave me just the amount I wanted for me and Hubs - four, good-sized brownies. For those of you who have this specialty cake pan, I baked them at 350 degrees for about 21 minutes and let them cool about 10 minutes before I attempted to unmold them (and they were stubborn, even tho' I sprayed the pan with a flour-based cooking spray). This recipe is all you'd want in a decadent chocolate brownie - rich and buttery, fudgy and pleasantly sweet. The coffee liqueur taste is not obviously noticeable, however, I appreciated the way it livened up the flavor. They would have been just fine as is, but because I wanted to dress them up a bit I made a glaze (just winged the amounts) of powdered sugar, melted chocolate, butter, vanilla, a dribble of corn syrup, and Kahlua.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
These were really good, good flavor and good texture. I followed the recipe exact using Starbucks cream coffee liquor. I'll keep this recipe as a go-to for a great chocolately crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I've never before experienced a headache from sugar or chocolate...until this morning. I made these brownies last night and were too warm to sneak a bite so I had to wait until morning. I put them in the fridge so they'd be more solid and easier to cut. --Disgusting as it sounds, I probably ate three brownies around 8am this morning. I couldn't stop "nibbling" while I cut them! Brownies are my BIGGEST weakness and wow, did these suckers win me over! I subbed cocoa powder and butter for the squares of chocolate (3T cocoa +1T butter for each ounce). I also omitted the nuts and chose to bake at 350 since that's where my oven was set. They baked in about 38 min. Sinfully rich and decadent. The lackluster top could've been prettied up with a very thin glaze, but it didn't need it and it was easier to pack/ship them without it. Good thing I mailed 95% of these off or I'd be hitting them gym til they close tonight... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Successfully clogged one, if not two, arteries -- in only one serving! Great brownies though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I realized two things when I first made these brownies - these brownies need to be cooled for well over an hour before cutting and Jill's World-Famous Coffee Liqueur Brownies are some of the most delicious brownies to come out of my oven. These brownies are fudgey right out of the oven. After a few hours of cooling, they take on a more cake-like texture. I couldn't really taste the coffee flavor. I think this would be easily solved by adding some powdered instant coffee. If someone could suggest a liqueur with a more assertive coffee flavor than Kahlua, then I would be grateful. Thanks, CAFN8ME, for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I don't think I will ever be able to eat any other brownies now that I tasted these. Took half the batch to my dad's house so I wouldn't eat them all. Best brownies EVER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
After a year of being a member, this will be my first review I've taken the time to write...THIS RECIPE IS FANTASTIC!!! Made as written, with Patron Coffee Liqueur. Then, at the suggestion of another reviewer, made a chocolate glaze with Kahlua added. HOLY COW, this will forever be my go-to for adult brownies! Thank you CAFN8ME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
A fudgy brownie that is pretty good. Not too greasy we just prefer a more cake like version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Baking at 375 degrees resulted in burning around the edges, and still not done in center. Will try again another time and lower oven temp to 350. Very rich,chocolaty and fudgy, with a subtle coffee flavor, which was exactly what I was hoping for. Thank you, "poush" for suggesting and Jill for a recipe to turn to, when I want to indulge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Not very inpressed with this one. Took about 10 mins. more to cook but outside edge burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States