Jill's Sweet and Tangy Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MrsAltmiller
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I was a bit skeptical of this recipe but decided to try it anyway after reading the positive reviews. When the sauce was cooking, my house smelled heavenly. I liked the flavor but did find it a bit on the bland side. Next time I make this I will make some extra sauce to use as a glaze after baking. I found that an hour at 350 was a bit too long so I will try 45 minutes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAltmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This was okay. Tasted like a sweet meatloaf... Was expecting a " tangy" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Very good! Great flavor and loved the idea of cooking in a square pan. Can't wait to eat it on a sandwich today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abingdon, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
i did add a little garlic but was one of the best meatloafs i have had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hunter

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This was a good recipe. It's different from the usual, and the technique (e.g., step 2 in the directions) was interesting. It was even unusual to use an 8x8 instead of a 9x5 loaf pan (I used a Pyrex dish). I made it pretty much exactly as written, using a good-sized white onion. In my case, 1 hour of baking left it slightly underdone in the center, so I should have opted for using a meat thermometer as suggested. Also, it was a little weird that there was a good amount of water (not fat, although there was a little of that too) in the bottom of the dish - I was surprised it didn't evaporate away. But the meatloaf itself was tasty, and held together pretty well, despite the lack of breadcrumbs/egg/etc. It lasted me for three pretty big dinners' worth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Wife liked it enough to take for work lunch day after and called home to say how much she liked it. Three sons swarmed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abuelo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
very bland, not a good recipe, texture was not to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I liked the technique for this but it was very bland. I will make it again with more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
It was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Great - but different - meatloaf recipe! I was kind of hesitant when I read this over - having no glaze, and no "stuffing" (bread crumbs, cracker crumbs, etc.) - but was VERY pleasantly surprised how this one turned out. I enjoyed it as is - but others prefer the "traditional" glazing... Next time I'll tweak it for them - but I'll enjoy it either way ;);)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States