Jill's Summer Sangria Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
I had a girlie party a few weeks ago and this Sangria was a HUGE HIT!! I had to make enough for 48 servings...I used 1-4L bottle of Blush, 1-1/2 gal of pineapple/orange juice, 1-750ml bottle of MALIBU MANGO, 2 cups of sugar and 2-2L bottles of diet 7-up. I used orange slices, apples, black berries, strawberries and 2-20oz. cans of pineapple chunks! Even for my hardcore drinkers, this one was strong and SUPER YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by That Girl Tam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
OK, this is one STRONG drink. We had to mix it with gingerale before we could drink it - great flavor, but watch out!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
Call me a lightweight, but this stuff was STRONG. I only used a cup of rum and was FEELING NO PAIN after a tall cool glass of it at a summer cookout. Great easy recipe, but I'll probably cut back on the rum next time so I can taste the red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
Jill, you rock!! This is an awsome recipe! I did marinate the fruit separate and trust me, we had alot of ideas at our neighborhood meeting after drinking this!! Thanks again for an awsome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phnz2lft

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Superbly Yummy! I (of course) made some alterations to the recipe, following others advice and what intuitively seemed right. I used half watermelon rum (1 cup in each step), cut the sugar in half (though I think that it could have gone without having used the melon rum!), used frozen strawberries (not the best, fresh would have been better, for sure!), fresh apricots, peaches and pluots and the canned pineapple. I used Orange Strawberry Mango juice (see? sugar would have worked!). I used a magnum of Crane Lake cabernet sauvignon ($4!) and next time may try a white! The gingerale was a MUST!!! Too strong w/out...yummy, but dangerous!! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGOSLAND

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
This was excellent, a real hit at the party. We just put the fruit in with the wine and juice instead of soaking them in the rum etc., but if you want more of a kick, go ahead and soak them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
Excellent! I don't particularly like the rum taste, so I gave it a four star. Also, I used rasberries instead of cherries, because cherries give you gas. Be cautious, I was borderline drunk after a big goblet of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This was great. Very strong, so I doubled the wine and made a larger batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
This was fabulous! Not one drop was left half way through our party. I added pears and orange slices. Other then that, followed the recipe to marinate the fruit (I probably let it marinate about 12 hours) and it was delicious and POTENT! Definitely 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Strong? Yes...i added a dash of Sprite left over from the non-alchoholic Sangria I was serving. This was a hit! I modified it a bit and used kiwis and apples and the Rum (top shelf makes all the difference). I served this at my b-day party and I'm still getting requests for the recipe! Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sangria Cocktail

A professional bartender makes this classic Spanish wine and fruit punch.

Classic Spanish Sangria

Watch how to make this authentic version of the popular wine drink.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States