Jill's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Yum yum yum! I used wheat buns to serve them and they turned out great. I always have made sloppy Joe's out of the seasonings or cans, but this tops them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bridecooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
i just made this for lunch :) super easy and super yummmmy. yay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
A little dry, but the flavors are wonderful. I add cumin, too, and its even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
WOW! This was fantastic! I will never eat a sloppy joe from a season packet again... We made this in a pinch and was by far the best sloppy joes we've ever had! Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HansonMansion

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
The best Sloppy Joes I have ever made! I will finely chop the celery and onion when I take them to work for those who hate vegetables and they will never know! Thank you Jill! A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
My family loved this recipe. They were tired of my old recipe and all raved over this. I have to say the only change I made was to reduce the celery by about half and finely chop it because my kids would not like to bite into pieces of celery. It would be a huge turnoff if they knew there were veggies in it!!! Otherwise followed recipe as written and they are still asking for the leftovers even though they have finished it! Will definately add this to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Rating my own spin due to following: I started with a different recipe but felt it was blah. So, I already used 1 8oz can tomato sauce (garlic flavor) & approx 1/2 cup ketchup. I had the minced celery & onion & everthing else (no water) in the sauce but the cumin/paprika/chili powder. I had to scale this to 4 servings as I had 1 lb of grnd turkey thawed. So, I added the cumin & paprika but cut way down on the chili powder cuz mine is super strong. I did simmer everything but the meat in a pot for about an hour...refrigerated that overnight, then added browned grnd turkey the next day and let that simmer till thick. The only item I added (not on the list) was a tsp of poupon style mustard & needed a little more brn sugar due to using tomato sauce. End results were super delish but next time I think I'll add 1/4 C finely diced grn pepper as I was missing that flavor. I didn't make this exactly as written but close enough for me! The cumin/paprika/chili powder made this a much better Joe. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Good recipe, though I like mine better (my recipe makes way too much for one family dinner and I can't really lessen it easily). For a different texture try using shredded beef instead. I had some Venison roast left-over from Sunday dinner, shredded it and used that instead of ground meat. It saved on cook time too as I didn't have to thaw, then brown any burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
These are great. Very tangy with some zip and a little spice. I scaled this down to 1 lb. of beef and used dried minced onion (1 small handful, about 2 T) and half cumin powder half cumin seeds and tossed a pinch of celery seed in too. I let this simmer for an hour since it was for hubby's lunch and that's how much time I had. This was a really great sandwich. I served this on toasted buns. We liked this and would definitely fix this again although it didn't make our favorites, it's still a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States