Jill's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I make a motion to call this recipe, 'Sloppy Jills'. All in favor say, yum yum! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
ran out of the can stuff and thought how different can it be? ALOT The old cliche, I'll never go back to the can is true! This was a great recipe. I did use garlic and onion powder because of time constraints. My family has a new favorite sloppy joe! Thanks Jill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Tiihonen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I just made a batch for supper. My middle son ate 2 sandwiches. He NEVER eats sloppy joes. I will for sure make this again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I've tried a few sloppy joe recipes on this site and this one is the best. Adjusted it a little eliminating the brown sugar, adding 1 TBSP spicy BBQ sauce, used pureed tomatoes instead of ketchup, and added fresh roasted garlic. It's REALLY good. My friends absolutely love it. I am going to try making sloppy joe pockets with Pillsbury dough using this recipe. I think it will be amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I added half of a green pepper, diced. Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I thought this was a great recipe, very tasty and I had many compliments from my coworkers when I took it for a pot luck luncheon. I chopped the onion and celery in the food processor to camouflage it in the meat, but the flavor was present. While I initially cooked it on the stove, I transferred it to the crock pot for serving it warm. Like one of the other readers, I picked the recipe because there were no peppers recommended as I don't care for their overpowering taste. I would recommend this recipe and have. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I have used this recipe as a guide several times now. It is great. There is a lot of sodium and sugar (or corn syrup) in this recipe, though. I have been tweaking to cut down on these two things. When I last made this, I used 28 oz of other tomato products - tomato sauce, some paste, a pureed can of no-salt-added diced tomatoes, and a can of tomato soup. The soup also has a lot of salt. I may try low sodium soup next time or just more sauce or paste. The brown sugar was all the sugar the recipe needed. And I would rather add a pinch more brown sugar than use ketchup. I did not add the 2 tsp of salt because there is plenty of salt in the other ingredients used. I did add some Mrs. Dash seasoning to add a touch more flavor (on top of the other seasonings I had already used). Oh, also, I only used one tbsp of chili powder because in the past the kids complained of it being too spicy. I liked it with the full 2 tbsp, but I like things more spicy than the rest of the family. I may add some more natural sweetness next time by adding diced red or orange pepper. I don't like green peppers, but the red, orange, and yellow peppers are good. The kids all gobbled it up and said it was better than the canned sloppy joe. I like this recipe so much because it is different than the rest. I decided to give it a try the first time because of the interesting blend of ingredients. I will keep using this recipe as my guide.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Jill, thanks for the recipe! Did you used to have another sloppy joe recipe on A/R? If you did, it was also very good. I had saved it and used it multiple times. Would love to see you repost it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
yummy! didn't last long around here...we all loved this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
We loved this!! Next time we plan to chop a jalapeño into the mix. Sweet and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States