Jill's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This was a spicy sloppy joe, good, but not the taste I remember from church suppers of the mid 60's. I will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyousblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Delicious! A finicky 13 yr old biy picked this Sloppy Joe recipe for me, likely because it had NO green peppers. I thought the amount of celery would taste/look weird but it didn't. It was a great addition,the celery retains a crunch but was there mostly as texture as the flavor is either masked with the spice mix or gone because of cooking time. I made the celery into dice so that it would resemble the same chop of the onion, figuring that is better looking than half moons. I also sauteed, onion and celery and garlic first in a little olive oil (I like my onion wilted) and browned inexpensive frozen ground turley (comes in a frozen roll)on top of that. I did not drain since it was turkey and just omitted the water. YUM! and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
i made a 15lb batch of this and everyone raved about how good it was. it was not like the same old sloppy joes, it had great flavor and consistancy. thanks for the addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minocqua, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Very tangy but way better then store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grangeville, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I used 1 lb of rough ground venison instead of ground beef... very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Unity, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Awesome recipe. Recommend using jus a dash of cumin as it is a very strong spice and was a little overwhelming. Try using buffalo meat...you won't believe it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Delicious!! Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Very Good! Liked the addition off all the different spices that are usually not in a sloppy joe. So EASY & had all the ingredients on hand made it even easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States