Jill's Hash Brown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was the best casserole I've ever had. I added crumbled turkey sausage which made it more filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slewis0054

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
The family loved it!!! It's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkerton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I only gave this 4 starts because it was quite rich with butter and sour cream. A little too much fat for our liking, but I will make again and cut back on the fat and I'm sure it will be a 5 start recipe! The flavor was outstanding. Also I added a pound of hamburer and cooked the onion with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I used O'brien potatoes versus hashbrowns so I did not add any onion. Plus I put in a slow cooker on low for 5 hours. Did not use the cornflakes because I did not bake this however I still added the butter...because.. I love butter. It turned out delightfully delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wickie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reedsburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I don't use onion or the corn flakes, but this is the best combination I've found for these potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
We really enjoyed this recipe! It doesn't get as "greasy" as some other recipes we've tried! I skipped out on the crunch for the top, and didn't miss it! Will use again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
My family made this for me for Mother's Day brunch and it was wonderful! They added crumbled bacon and since we didn't have cornflakes they just topped it with some extra cheese. We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ybac

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I made this today and took it to a gathering for Mother's Day brunch. It was a huge hit! I doubled the recipe and made only one change which was to top with a big can of French fried onion rings. I also used some cornflakes, but the next time I'll skip them. The onion rings hit the spot perfectly. Next time I will use a low-fat sour cream to cut out some of the calories and I will let the potatoes, cheese and sour cream reach room temperature before mixing and baking. With everything so cold, it took longer to heat through to the center. Also, I recommend adding the onion rings (or corn flakes) only for the last 15 minutes so they don't get too brown. I recommend mixing everything before adding to the potatoes so that it's well incorporated. This is something I will definitely make again and not just for a brunch! It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
what a wonderful recipe! i used cream of chicken soup and used french fried onions instead of corn flakes per other reviews...added onion powder not fresh also added pepper and a little salt...i loved this..it has the perfect sour cream/cheese/potato ratio..makes a ton but leftovers wont last long thank you for the recipe! also used less butter :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Great! I made it for brunch. I received lots of compliments. I changed it by using cream of potato soup; I chopped up three stalks of celery and sauteed them in the butter (I reduced it to 1/4 cup) along with the onion and garlic before I added it to the mixture. I also added some chopped ham. I mixed it all in a big bowl before I put it into the baking dish and then put some sliced cheese (swiss) on top. No corn flakes. I also baked it over an hour. I prepared everything last night and had it in the fridge overnight. It worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CA cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States