Jill's Hash Brown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I made this today and took it to a gathering for Mother's Day brunch. It was a huge hit! I doubled the recipe and made only one change which was to top with a big can of French fried onion rings. I also used some cornflakes, but the next time I'll skip them. The onion rings hit the spot perfectly. Next time I will use a low-fat sour cream to cut out some of the calories and I will let the potatoes, cheese and sour cream reach room temperature before mixing and baking. With everything so cold, it took longer to heat through to the center. Also, I recommend adding the onion rings (or corn flakes) only for the last 15 minutes so they don't get too brown. I recommend mixing everything before adding to the potatoes so that it's well incorporated. This is something I will definitely make again and not just for a brunch! It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
what a wonderful recipe! i used cream of chicken soup and used french fried onions instead of corn flakes per other reviews...added onion powder not fresh also added pepper and a little salt...i loved this..it has the perfect sour cream/cheese/potato ratio..makes a ton but leftovers wont last long thank you for the recipe! also used less butter :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Great! I made it for brunch. I received lots of compliments. I changed it by using cream of potato soup; I chopped up three stalks of celery and sauteed them in the butter (I reduced it to 1/4 cup) along with the onion and garlic before I added it to the mixture. I also added some chopped ham. I mixed it all in a big bowl before I put it into the baking dish and then put some sliced cheese (swiss) on top. No corn flakes. I also baked it over an hour. I prepared everything last night and had it in the fridge overnight. It worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CA cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Absolutely DELISH. I vary it by using a classic "crushed Ritz + melted butter" combination, instead of the corn flakes. I also add dashes of my favorite seasonings, and always get rave reviews. We make this for just about EVERY family gathering and there is rarely even a spoonful left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogers, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This was fantastic! I didn't have the cornflakes, but my family didn't seem to mind. Very filling--a little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I made this today as our main dish! needed a quick meal everyone would enjoy. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Ketchum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I made this today to go with my oven baked baby back ribs. My family loved this and will make again for sure.Thank you JoanieMarie1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
We had this recipe for Easter Brunch and it was WONDERFUL. We plan on keeping this recipe for future use-it was soooooo good! The only thing we did different was not add the corn flakes. We just like it the way it was. Thank you so much for this one- it is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
i've made it for many different dinners and each time had people fighting to take home the leftovers....if there was any left!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States