Jill's Hash Brown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This was creamy and delicious. The only thing I changed was I used half cheddar cheese and half shredded velveeta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
It was wonderful! I used chip dip instead of sour cream since I needed to use it up. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paullina, Iowa, USA
Living In: Sutherland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I added chopped green onions.about 5.It was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Fix and forget! Excellent recipe. Cut leftovers in squares and froze in non-stick aluminum foil. When I made meatloaf I put them in the oven for another easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This was not a hit in our house...was very bland and ended up using it as a base for soup the following day, so wasn't a complete loss. Will be sticking with the old recipe on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Very delicious casserole! I added dill as a flavoring which was a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Not a bad recipe. I used real shredded potatoes, which might be why they didn't cook through well. There was something missing in the flavoring, but still a great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by codeseven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I have a very similar version of this recipe I use on a regular basis. So, so, so good. The only difference is that my version uses Cream of Chicken soup and the topping is 2 cups of crushed corn flakes mixed with 1/4 cup of melted butter. Now, if you really want to make this recipe WOW, substitute a bag of frozen sweet potato fries for the hash browns. You will have to chop them once thawed so they are hash brown size. Put a pinch of cayenne pepper in the mixture too. Fantastic variation!! Or, stick to the regular potatoes and add some fresh bacon bits. Mmmmmmm. One other note - make ahead in the pan - don't bake but freeze instead. Take out of the freezer, defrost and bake - Wonderful! I often split this recipe into two batches for the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virden, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This was great!!!! However, I made a few changes. I didn't have corn flakes, so I used crisy rice cereal, was just as yummy. I saved back about 1 Tbsp of melted butter and mixed the crispy rice cereal with it. I used cream of onion soup, and omitted the chopped onion. Double the recipe and bake for about 1 hour and 15min for a larger crowd. Thanks Jill!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Thanks so much for this recipe! I've had this type of dish all my life, but some better than others. I looked around for one with just right combination of flavors I love. What I did different: used cream of chicken (cheapest store brand), butter (not marg), 1/4 cup cream cheese, diced potatoes, 2 cups colby jack shredded cheese, 1/3 can of fried onions in the mix and then I used another 1/3 can of fried onions with equal parts corn flakes crushed together for topping. Oil in the onions helped the corn flakes crisp up nice. Rave reviews - of course it wasn't low fat, but I did use a light sour cream. Very yummy. This ones a keeper. Thanks to others for suggested modifications too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States