Jill's Hash Brown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Thanks so much for this recipe! I've had this type of dish all my life, but some better than others. I looked around for one with just right combination of flavors I love. What I did different: used cream of chicken (cheapest store brand), butter (not marg), 1/4 cup cream cheese, diced potatoes, 2 cups colby jack shredded cheese, 1/3 can of fried onions in the mix and then I used another 1/3 can of fried onions with equal parts corn flakes crushed together for topping. Oil in the onions helped the corn flakes crisp up nice. Rave reviews - of course it wasn't low fat, but I did use a light sour cream. Very yummy. This ones a keeper. Thanks to others for suggested modifications too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Yummy comfort food. I left out the onions, though. I didn't have corn flakes so I used Panko. This definitely will be a staple around here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This recipe is a HUGE hit in my house! Whenever I make this I use Heluva Good French Onion Dip in place of sour cream. Adds a little more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I really like this recipe. I use cream of chicken soup instead of cream of mushroom. And I also add a lot more cornflakes--it adds texture to it. But it's an easy and yummy holiday recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This was really, really good and easy to assemble. I used cream of chicken soup instead of the cream of mushroom and I think the cream of mushroom soup gives hashbrown casseroles a funky taste. Also used nonfat greek plain yogurt in place of the sour cream. Topped with fried onions the last 15 minutes. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Hey there, great recipe! I make it all the time a suggestion I have is to add about 1/4 milk for moistness and use old cheddar for more flavour. Great with steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
There were no leftovers. Perfect addition to our breakfast for dinner menue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boonsboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Delicious recipe. I used Cream of Chicken instead of mushroom as well since that's our preference and had panko on hand so I mixed panko, some of the cheddar cheese and some of the melted butter and sprinkled on top the last 20 minutes. Wonderful that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Everyone for the most part loves this....it is awesome for almost anyone. This is a great recipe, however, you can kind of figure out wht works best for you...add a little more of this or lessen it. Also, great to add your own finese..we really like to use onion and garlic salt in a lot of things. Add...meats or other things but it is great like it is to be honest!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I made this last night as a spur of the moment side. I didn't have corn flakes or fried onions so I just added 1/2 the cheese o the mix and 1/2 on top. I also halved the butter and was glad I did, it would have been too greasy otherwise. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States