Jill's Hash Brown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I have a very similar version of this recipe I use on a regular basis. So, so, so good. The only difference is that my version uses Cream of Chicken soup and the topping is 2 cups of crushed corn flakes mixed with 1/4 cup of melted butter. Now, if you really want to make this recipe WOW, substitute a bag of frozen sweet potato fries for the hash browns. You will have to chop them once thawed so they are hash brown size. Put a pinch of cayenne pepper in the mixture too. Fantastic variation!! Or, stick to the regular potatoes and add some fresh bacon bits. Mmmmmmm. One other note - make ahead in the pan - don't bake but freeze instead. Take out of the freezer, defrost and bake - Wonderful! I often split this recipe into two batches for the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virden, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This was great!!!! However, I made a few changes. I didn't have corn flakes, so I used crisy rice cereal, was just as yummy. I saved back about 1 Tbsp of melted butter and mixed the crispy rice cereal with it. I used cream of onion soup, and omitted the chopped onion. Double the recipe and bake for about 1 hour and 15min for a larger crowd. Thanks Jill!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Thanks so much for this recipe! I've had this type of dish all my life, but some better than others. I looked around for one with just right combination of flavors I love. What I did different: used cream of chicken (cheapest store brand), butter (not marg), 1/4 cup cream cheese, diced potatoes, 2 cups colby jack shredded cheese, 1/3 can of fried onions in the mix and then I used another 1/3 can of fried onions with equal parts corn flakes crushed together for topping. Oil in the onions helped the corn flakes crisp up nice. Rave reviews - of course it wasn't low fat, but I did use a light sour cream. Very yummy. This ones a keeper. Thanks to others for suggested modifications too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Yummy comfort food. I left out the onions, though. I didn't have corn flakes so I used Panko. This definitely will be a staple around here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This recipe is a HUGE hit in my house! Whenever I make this I use Heluva Good French Onion Dip in place of sour cream. Adds a little more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I really like this recipe. I use cream of chicken soup instead of cream of mushroom. And I also add a lot more cornflakes--it adds texture to it. But it's an easy and yummy holiday recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This was really, really good and easy to assemble. I used cream of chicken soup instead of the cream of mushroom and I think the cream of mushroom soup gives hashbrown casseroles a funky taste. Also used nonfat greek plain yogurt in place of the sour cream. Topped with fried onions the last 15 minutes. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Hey there, great recipe! I make it all the time a suggestion I have is to add about 1/4 milk for moistness and use old cheddar for more flavour. Great with steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
There were no leftovers. Perfect addition to our breakfast for dinner menue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boonsboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Delicious recipe. I used Cream of Chicken instead of mushroom as well since that's our preference and had panko on hand so I mixed panko, some of the cheddar cheese and some of the melted butter and sprinkled on top the last 20 minutes. Wonderful that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States