Jill's Hash Brown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I can never follow a recipe exactly, but still give it a good rating for the "base". I changed to Cream of Potato soup and used the cheddar french fried onions for the topping. I also cook a pound of bacon, drain and saute the onion in 1 tbls of the grease, and add cajun seasoning to that, before adding to the other mixture. Sometimes I use 1/2 pepper jack and 1/2 cheddar for more zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miles City, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Super yummy! Soup mixture was 2/3 can cream of mushroom and 2/3 can cheese soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I have been making this recipe for years, it is always a hit even with children. What I do differently is I use the southern style hash browns, and 2 cans of cream of potato soup, I also season with season salt(low sodium),onion and garlic powder. I usually bake for 1 hour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Forest Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Excellent taste. It is the onions that give it some crunch in the end, if you're looking for more crispness. I like the softness of the dish, husband thought it should be more cheesy and didn't care for the cornflakes. *Sigh, to him, any casserole needs to be cheesy. He says he loved it, but requests we replace the cornflakes with a cheese sprinkle next time. I think it sounds good and I'll try it for my cheese lovers in this house, but I give this recipes 5 stars, AS IS :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Carthage, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This was creamy and delicious. The only thing I changed was I used half cheddar cheese and half shredded velveeta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
It was wonderful! I used chip dip instead of sour cream since I needed to use it up. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paullina, Iowa, USA
Living In: Sutherland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I added chopped green onions.about 5.It was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Fix and forget! Excellent recipe. Cut leftovers in squares and froze in non-stick aluminum foil. When I made meatloaf I put them in the oven for another easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This was not a hit in our house...was very bland and ended up using it as a base for soup the following day, so wasn't a complete loss. Will be sticking with the old recipe on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Very delicious casserole! I added dill as a flavoring which was a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States