Jiffy Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
I needed a recipe to feed 5 kids (3 of them as guests) so I was pressed for time! I did brown the beef w/ the onions and added season salt plus garlic powder. Milk instead of water. I layared potatoes, then 1/2 of beef, plus added 1 cup of frozen green beans, rest of beef and baked at 400 for 45-55 mins...topped w/ cheese last 5 mins of baking. Kids loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
I made this recipe tonite and it was GREAT!!!!! But I used 2 cans of mushroom soup to make it creamier, and then at the end of the cooking time I topped it with cheese. I also added bell pepper to saute with the onions, and some garlic powder in the meat while it cooked. Will make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
Taste was very good. Needed several changes however. 2 cans of soup instead of one, one onion instead of two, canned green beans were an excellent addition, and I will definitely use frozen hash brown potatos next time instead of cubed as they did not fully cook through. Great base recipe though, and will make again as my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
Oh, my goodness, SO good and SO easy!! I added salt, pepper and garlic powder to the ground beef, and added some grated cheddar cheese in the layers. I also used two cans of soup instead of one. Great recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2002
oooooo doggie! it wasn't to hot the first time i fixed it. but this time i helped it out.with the oinons i added a can of mushroom and a can of mixed veggies.then i sauteed them all together and added a clove of garlic too. when they were done i added 4 oz of cream cheese and 3 tbs of cottage cheese. mixed the veggies and the cheeses together.(you could eat this by it self.hummm good) the rest i did what the recipe said.except i did boil my taters first. that helped out a lot.and i topped it off with chedder cheese too. this recipe went from a forgetter to a winner!! thanks, tiffy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
I made this recipe tonight for the first time. My husband & 3 year old loved it, as did I. I sauted the onions with the beef because I didn't read the recipe closely enough....no problem there! I sliced the potatoes thinly and layered it in a square dish with just over a pound of hamburger meat (seasoned with garlic powder and salt/pepper). I ended up not having cream of mushroom soup, so I used the golden mushroom soup instead. It really added alot of flavor in my view. I would use the golden soup again. Thanks for the recipe! My husband finished the remainder of the casserole tonight! No leftovers for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
This recipe is a good starter, for a meal. But like the other reviews said, it needs a little help. I added some mixed veggies, a clove of garlic and some cheddar cheese. I did microwave the pototes to get them a little soft to shorten the cooking time, just 30 minutes. I just used the 1 can of soup, I didn't think it needed more than that. It came out great, and I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Wow - really loved this. Was simple to make and came out great. (I reserve 5 star rating for more elegant fare) What I did different was add milk to the soup instead of water, increasing the ammount to about 1/2 - 3/4 cup (didn't measure exactly). I salt and peppered plus added Zataran cajun seasoning to the potato layers. Baked about 1 hour at 300, potatoes weren't done and I was impatient so I cooked it another 20 minutes at 400 with no problems. I definitely recommend this recipe. I wouldn't do 2 cans of soup as some have posted. When you add the soup it looks like it doesn't infiltrate the top layer, but as it cooks, it makes it's way down. Adding 2 cans of soup would really increase the fat content. Again - mine came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca S. Roth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
I made this the other night for supper. It was a big hit. Even my 6 year old who hates to try new things ate it! I made a few changes like some of the others. I used 2 cans of soup and some shredded cheese. It was very creamy. I also chopped up the onion and cooked it with the hamburger. (I knew the onion slices wouldn't go over with the kids) Will fix again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
Great recipe! Next time I will use only 1 onion (2 was just too much). If you're pressed for time, you can boil the potatoes until tender first, then add to the casserole, and bake about 30 minutes. I think next time I will slice the potatoes instead of cubing them - just my personal preference. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States