Jiffy Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
This is quick to make and is a good hearty meal. Lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
I made so many changes to this that it probably qualifies as a whole new recipe! LOL! First of all, I have to recommend that anyone making this use more ground beef; it definitely needs more. I used one can of cream of mushroom soup and one can of cream of chicken soup. For the potatoes, I used most of a pound of frozen hashbrowns and 6 thawed hashbrown patties that I had left (day before payday!). I cooked the meat with some worcestershire sauce and spices, which kept the beef from being too bland. I also sprinkled on garlic powder and italian seasoning after each layer. I used a higher temperature-425 degrees-but only needed to cook it for just under an hour. When it was done, I grated on a little smoked cheddar and some french fried onions, and cooked for another 5 minutes. We all loved this; my husband ate 3 plates of it! My toddlers also wolfed it down, but they drink out of the toilet so they're not exactly gourmets...Next time I'm going to substitute cheddar cheese soup in place of the cream of chicken, and it *definitely* needs more hamburger. Green beans would also have made it better, but we were out. Overall, this one's definitely being made again in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
Really quick and easy, I used cream of onion soup because that's what I had on hand. Husband loved it and he's not a casserole lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
this dish is great for a quick dinner...and it is quick because I use frozen hash browns instead of cutting up all those potatoes myself!!! either the shredded or the chunky ones willl work....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
I made this for a gathering. I was SOOO embarrassed by the; presentation - BLAND Flavor - BLAND The potatoes were not even cooked through!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
Well at least I'm not the only one who found this to be 'hoh-hum'. However my husband didn't mind it. I found it to be very bland - won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
It was okay, took a while to prepare and made a few extra dirty dishes. It was like the hamburger helper in taste. I won't be making it again. We didn't even eat the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
I have never given 1 Star before but this was bland & boring and that was with using the help of some other reviewers - Took suggestions and added more onion, also added frozen peas and mushrooms, garlic, definitely need 2 cans of mushroom soup and used cream of mushroom with roasted garlic to give it some pizazz. To no avail - it was edible but I made it on a Mon. and the leftovers sat there the entire week - never happens in my house!! I'm throwing out the leftovers today (Sat.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
This was so good! I added other bits of leftovers I had in the fridge like BBQ'ed bratworsts and veggies. We don't like potatoes too much here so we added less than called for. I like this recipe because you can use up all the small amounts of leftovers in one yummy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
This is yummy and fairly easy to throw together. Like previous reviews, I also use two cans of mushroom soup. I always use sweet onions, like Vidalia, when available. Thanks Judith.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States