Jiffy Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
I made this recipe tonight for the first time. My husband & 3 year old loved it, as did I. I sauted the onions with the beef because I didn't read the recipe closely enough....no problem there! I sliced the potatoes thinly and layered it in a square dish with just over a pound of hamburger meat (seasoned with garlic powder and salt/pepper). I ended up not having cream of mushroom soup, so I used the golden mushroom soup instead. It really added alot of flavor in my view. I would use the golden soup again. Thanks for the recipe! My husband finished the remainder of the casserole tonight! No leftovers for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
I was leery, but based on feedback I gave it a try. It's actually very good, but only 3 stars b/c it's hardly an impressive dish. I only used 3 potatoes and 3/4 # hamburger as a result of feedback ("needs more hamburger"). Will omit onion next time (I love onions, but the flavor was all wrong in this recipe) and replace with canned green beans for some color. Great meat and potatoes meal for family (not guests!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
This is just like the description says...quick, easy and tasty! I did slice the potatos with my pampered chef slice and grate (awesome kitchen tool!!) which worked out great...I do think it needs more like 1 1/2 pounds of meat though! Didn't change anything else and it was awesome...I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
So quick to make! The family loved it. They said they would like me to cook it again. "Homely and nice" is how they described it. I will be making this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
Very good. Good for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
Great recipe! Next time I will use only 1 onion (2 was just too much). If you're pressed for time, you can boil the potatoes until tender first, then add to the casserole, and bake about 30 minutes. I think next time I will slice the potatoes instead of cubing them - just my personal preference. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
This recipe turned out well, I used about 1.5 Lbs of Hamburgers that I had BBQ a few nights earlier. Crumbled the meat, placed raw sweet onion over that and layered with the potatoes that I had not peeled I had just sliced. I used a casserole dish because I wanted it to be deeper not wider and added almost a full can of water to the soup and cooked it about an hour and half. The pre-cooked burgers gave the meal a smokey flavor and because I didn't peel or cook anything before it went in the oven it only took a few minutes to prepare. The family ate it all that night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
This is quick to make and is a good hearty meal. Lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
I made so many changes to this that it probably qualifies as a whole new recipe! LOL! First of all, I have to recommend that anyone making this use more ground beef; it definitely needs more. I used one can of cream of mushroom soup and one can of cream of chicken soup. For the potatoes, I used most of a pound of frozen hashbrowns and 6 thawed hashbrown patties that I had left (day before payday!). I cooked the meat with some worcestershire sauce and spices, which kept the beef from being too bland. I also sprinkled on garlic powder and italian seasoning after each layer. I used a higher temperature-425 degrees-but only needed to cook it for just under an hour. When it was done, I grated on a little smoked cheddar and some french fried onions, and cooked for another 5 minutes. We all loved this; my husband ate 3 plates of it! My toddlers also wolfed it down, but they drink out of the toilet so they're not exactly gourmets...Next time I'm going to substitute cheddar cheese soup in place of the cream of chicken, and it *definitely* needs more hamburger. Green beans would also have made it better, but we were out. Overall, this one's definitely being made again in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
Really quick and easy, I used cream of onion soup because that's what I had on hand. Husband loved it and he's not a casserole lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States