Jiffy Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I added shredded hash browns on top of this casserole, and sprayed lightly with cooking oil so it browned. My husband really liked it - said it was very Sheppard-pie'ish! My daughter and I didn't care for this - hence the 3 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
I made this recipe twice and we liked it. I think some of the not so glowing reviews missed the "jiffy" part of the title. Yes, I cooked the onions and meat together also. I did add a bit of garlic and seasoned salt. After the dish was cooked, I added a layer of chopped olives. And I set out sour cream, which several people said was a good addition. The second time I made it, I didn't have enough potatoes, so I supplemented with a cup or two of cooked brown rice. I almost always have some cooked brown rice in the fridge, so it didn't slow me down. This is a keeper because it's QUICK! and also tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
I read the other reviews and made some modifications- added more soup, sliced the potatoes and cooked the onion with the ground beef. We did not like it. My daughter didn't like it, my husband picked at it, and I just didn't care for it. It's too bland- and that was after I added garlic powder and marjoram. Plus, using a cream soup with ground beef just creates a dish that doesn't look appetizing at all. Maybe that played a part. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
This reminded me of tater tot casserole without the crunch of the tots. I followed other suggestions and used 2 cans of soup, one mushroom, one celery and cooking the onion with the beef. I also used 1 1/2 pound of beef and only 3 potatoes. I microwaved my potatoes for 4 min. before pealing and slicing. I used a 2.5 liter Corning wear dish. The casserole only had to cook 30 min. before it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
I wasn't too impressed with this; neither was hubby. It's too bland. Definitely missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
I really liked this recipe the second time I used the recipe I used more soup, it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
It was quite good, but it needs a little something else for more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
This was very tasty and easy, however my potatoes were underdone. I put it back in for another 1/2 hour in the oven. Changes I made: two cans of soup instead of one with a half a can of water; added thyme, salt and pepper to all layers; and sauteed mushrooms with the onions. I would think that carrots and/or zucchini would also be good with the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
This was ok. Too many onions for my children and hubby's liking. I thought is was good but family didn't eat it all up. Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
We didn't care for it at all this time. I will try it again another time with changes. This time, I took recommendations and substitutions. I sliced the potatoes. I cooked the onion (1 large) and hamburger together. I seasoned the meat with garlic powder. We don't like mushrooms, so I used one can of lower sodium cream of celery, and one can of cream of chicken, I mixed them together with one can of milk. I used one layer of potatoes, a layer of meat, 1/2 of the soup mixture, another layer of potatoes, another layer of meat, and another layer of potatoes, then the rest of the soup mixture. I covered with aluminum foil and cooked it for 1 hour. The potatoes were not done at all. We love onion, but there was too much. My husband picked out the meat and ate it. My daughter tried it and asked if she had to eat it. I ate it, but it was very bland and disappointing. If I try it again, I will boil the potatoes, use 1/2 the onion, and use one can of one of those Mexican flavored cheese soups with milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States