Jiffy Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
I needed a recipe to feed 5 kids (3 of them as guests) so I was pressed for time! I did brown the beef w/ the onions and added season salt plus garlic powder. Milk instead of water. I layared potatoes, then 1/2 of beef, plus added 1 cup of frozen green beans, rest of beef and baked at 400 for 45-55 mins...topped w/ cheese last 5 mins of baking. Kids loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
Good, basic, hearty. I sliced the potatoes to cook quicker, used 1/3c water, and added worchestershire to the soup mix before pouring. Took about 45 minutes and the potatoes were perfect. Good to eat with a fork, I wouldn't add more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
My kids loved this recipe. They are asking for it again. For the adults it lacked a little flavor. Will add more spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
I am giving this 4 stars based on the version I made, and knowing that it was meant to be a quick casserole. I chopped up an onion and fried it with the meat while I put together some instant hash brown potatoes. I seasoned the beef with season salt, garlic salt and S&P. I put the beef & onion as the bottom layer, added the cream of mush soup, then the potatoes & some cheese--baked for 20 minutes. It turned out pretty much like a creamy shepard's pie, but we personally like that taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Queensbury, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
This was pretty good. I was looking for something simple to send with my hubby for his lunch. Something that I didn't have to spend a lot of money on, and I had everything for this so I made it. For those who think it needs more flavor, just season your meat while cooking. I did slice my potatoes using my slice and grater, since I was kind of pressed for time. I quartered them lenghtwise and then sliced. I baked this at about 450 for 40 minutes, I thought for sure the potatoes wouldn't be done because I checked them after 30 mins and they were a little crunchy, but 15 minutes later they were perfectly done. Thanks for the easy to throw together meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Follett, Texas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
YUM! I added fresh mushrooms as an extra layer on top of the ground beef. Next time I make it, I'm going to add shredded cheese on top while it bakes. We are big cheese eaters! Very easy! Very fast! Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Wow - really loved this. Was simple to make and came out great. (I reserve 5 star rating for more elegant fare) What I did different was add milk to the soup instead of water, increasing the ammount to about 1/2 - 3/4 cup (didn't measure exactly). I salt and peppered plus added Zataran cajun seasoning to the potato layers. Baked about 1 hour at 300, potatoes weren't done and I was impatient so I cooked it another 20 minutes at 400 with no problems. I definitely recommend this recipe. I wouldn't do 2 cans of soup as some have posted. When you add the soup it looks like it doesn't infiltrate the top layer, but as it cooks, it makes it's way down. Adding 2 cans of soup would really increase the fat content. Again - mine came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca S. Roth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Everyone in my family liked this. The only thing I did differently was adding a layer of fresh mushrooms, and throwing a little fresh garlic in with the meat as it cooked. VERY easy and it was nice to just throw together what most people have handy in their pantry and come out with something not only edible but tasty too! (oh, I forgot that I also chopped up just ONE onion and cooked it with the meat, too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AggieFan92

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I added shredded hash browns on top of this casserole, and sprayed lightly with cooking oil so it browned. My husband really liked it - said it was very Sheppard-pie'ish! My daughter and I didn't care for this - hence the 3 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
I made this recipe twice and we liked it. I think some of the not so glowing reviews missed the "jiffy" part of the title. Yes, I cooked the onions and meat together also. I did add a bit of garlic and seasoned salt. After the dish was cooked, I added a layer of chopped olives. And I set out sour cream, which several people said was a good addition. The second time I made it, I didn't have enough potatoes, so I supplemented with a cup or two of cooked brown rice. I almost always have some cooked brown rice in the fridge, so it didn't slow me down. This is a keeper because it's QUICK! and also tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States